Visiting Dragons of Nightmare (original)

 

Oh, I´ve been wanting to write a post about this, but have been holding my breath as I wasn´t sure they were really coming in Patch 7.2.5 or not.

But they are coming! They are! And I´m suppose to be sleeping! I am! (I was when I fist started writing this post, anyway…)

As part of a TimeWalking event. How fantastic is that…It has been spotted through a new Quest called The Originals.

 

Long ago, great terrors walked our lands, and drove even the smallest to flights of heroism. I speak, of course, about Lord Kazzak, Azueregos, and the Dragons of Nightmare. Legends have it that so sought after were their treasures, that armies would camp overnight to hunt them down. We have felt disturbances in the timeways, coincidentally located where these giants once roamed. Would you mind investigating for us? Strange things happen during this time of year

 

I do wish, though, that they would be up all the time. So I could just “come across” them in their original zones too.

Oh, to stumble upon a magnificient sight as such an enormous dragon. Remember visiting Duskwood and juuust deciding to check what was up that road?

…And then get very surprised, that the aggro range of a “??” was in fact, that large, followed by the rush of being chased through the gloomy forest by a big ass dragon; each gigantic footstep shaking the ground and everything around you.

Oh, those were the days, were they not! Back when this tip…

Tip1.jpg

was very much true and sometimes a matter of life and death.

 

How much I adored fighting dragons in Vanilla. In fact, I dug out a very old screenshot from those times 🙂

Magic31

 

 

Lord Kazzak and Azuregos will make an appearance too!

They used to be in Blasted Lands and Azshara. I have fond memories of duoing Azuregos in one of the later expansions 🙂

 

 

And it appears as if they all will drop what they originally did…One can argue if that is a good thing or not – after all, there is something special about having items from Vanilla, that no longer is obtainable. But oh, the amount of excitement!

DoN drops

 

I decided to take a tour today to see how each zone looks now, compared to then. See, luckily I am a Druid. What else would I be, that class is the best, ever, and always will be…;)

And in Emerald Dreamway, we Druids have plenty of ways to travel around the world, including the portals to 3 of the zones, where the Dragons of Nightmare used to be. (Missing the one to Ashenvale)

 

The Emerald Dreamway consists of a pristine glade shrouded in misty twilight within the Emerald Dream, and a Nightmare-tainted swamp full of corrupted beasts and twisted roots and vines that twitch in time with a distant heartbeat. The corruption from the swamp has begun to encroach into the surrounding woodland, threatening the Dreamway and its many portals into Azeroth.

WoWScrnShot_060517_092358

WoWScrnShot_060517_092406

 

In the Emerald Dreamway, there is also a portal that is not open for us to pass through. Oh, I do wonder where it will lead. And when it might unlock…

WoWScrnShot_060517_093158

 

But anyway. On with the tour 🙂

I started with Duskwood (Twilight Grove), where I have the most memories from. So many deaths trying to just get near the Moonwell behind the Dragon..!

 

 

 

Then I went to Hinterlands (Seradane)

 

Then onto Feralas (Dream Bough), where I came across a treasure, that contained Skycaller.

Oh, to get a blue item from a treasure, that was a big thing back then 🙂

I was face to face with Lethlas and Dreamroarer too! (Bless Shadowmeld so I didn’t have to lay a hand on either one of them…)

Lethlas is part of Ysera‘s green dragonflight and recently made his way into the mortal realm with the recent development of The Nightmare that has caused the corruption of the Emerald Dragons. He and his broodmate, Dreamroarer, guard the gateway to the Dream at the Dream Bough in Feralas.

 

 

Then I flew to Ashenvale (Bough Shadow), where Phantim and Dreamstalker can be found.

Phantim wanders Bough Shadow along with other, weaker dragonkin while helping guard one of the portals of Azeroth. The portal itself is guarded by Dreamstalker; it is believed to lead to the Emerald Dream.

 

 

Look at the size of it´s wing alone. It might not be a big dragon, compared to the Dragons of Nightmare, but it can still do quite heavy damage with those wings, I bet!

 

 

See now, this portal in Ashenvale leads to nowhere, for players, all the times I´ve been here. But maybe it would this time, maybe it changed? I had to try…

 

 

But no. Shoot 🙂

WoWScrnShot_060517_094022

 

Couldn´t help myself here 😀

WoWScrnShot_060517_094040

 

 

A few of the scenery and op close 🙂

 

 

I look forward to go into details with each of these places in the future 🙂

And how I wish that the return of the Dragons of Nightmare would actually make them appear in these old locations once more. Sadly, Im afraid, it might just be a LFG thing, meaning, you will get teleported to and  infront of each place. (But I do not know for sure)

But hey. One can always stay behind when everyone else has left, and immerse, can they not 🙂 I hope so. Even though it will never be the same as back then.

WoWScrnShot_060517_094251

 


 

 

Just found a few notes on each place and Dragon, mostly for myself, keeping it in one place 🙂 Have a wonderful monday, everyone o/

 


The Dragons of Nightmare (a.k.a. Nightmare Dragons[1]) were four Green dragons corrupted by the Emerald Nightmare. Formerly Ysera’s lieutenants, the four caused havoc across Azeroth for years until being stopped. Three were slain and one was redeemed.

They were Lethon, Emeriss, Ysondre and Taerar. These dragons were world spawns located in Duskwood (Twilight Grove), the Hinterlands (Seradane), Feralas (Dream Bough), and Ashenvale (Bough Shadow). The dragons were removed following World of Warcraft: Cataclysm. It was later revealed that Lethon and Emeriss were killed during the War Against the Nightmare, Ysondre freed herself from the Nightmare’s corruption, and Taerar is killed during the Feralas storyline in N [40] Taerar’s Fall, ending the Dragons of Nightmare’s corrupt influence. They would return, however, when Xavius and the Nightmare resurfaced as bosses within the Emerald Nightmare raid.

 

Prior to the start of the War in Outland, Ysera‘s most trusted lieutenants were warped by a dark new power within the Emerald Dream. These wayward sentinels passed through the Great Trees into Azeroth, intending to spread madness and terror throughout the mortal kingdoms.

 

 

Back then we had Lethon.

https://i2.wp.com/images.mmorpg.com/images/galleries/formatted/532007/3ebb053f-bf68-4e52-b7ec-74f902afcfbf.jpg

IconSmall Lethon.gif Lethon

Lethon‘s exposure to the aberration within the Emerald Dream not only darkened the hue of the mighty dragon’s scales, but also empowered him with the ability to extract malevolent shades from his enemies. Once joined with their master, the shades imbue the dragon with healing energies. It should come as no surprise, then, that Lethon is considered to be among the most formidable of Ysera’s wayward lieutenants.

Lethon was killed by the redeemed Eranikus during the War Against the Nightmare.

 

 

And Emeriss.

Emeriss

IconSmall Emeriss.gif Emeriss

The mysterious dark power within the Emerald Dream has transformed the once-majestic Emeriss into a rotting, diseased monstrosity. Reports from the few who have survived encounters with the dragon have told horrifying tales of putrid mushrooms erupting from the corpses of their dead companions. Emeriss is truly the most gruesome and appalling of Ysera’s estranged green dragons.

Emeriss was killed by Tyrande Whisperwind during the War Against the Nightmare.

 

 

As well as Taerar.

https://i0.wp.com/oi59.tinypic.com/90otwx.jpg

IconSmall DragonNether.gif Taerar

Taerar was perhaps the most affected of Ysera’s rogue lieutenants. His interaction with the dark force within the Emerald Dream shattered Taerar’s sanity as well as his corporeal form. The dragon now exists as a specter with the ability to split into multiple entities, each of which possesses destructive magical powers. Taerar was a cunning and relentless foe who was intent on turning the madness of his existence into reality for the inhabitants of Azeroth.

 

 

And Ysondre.

http://vignette1.wikia.nocookie.net/wowwiki/images/2/26/Ysondreportal.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20070709015511

 

IconSmall DragonGreen.gif Ysondre

Once one of Ysera’s most trusted lieutenants, Ysondre had gone rogue, sowing terror and chaos across the land of Azeroth. Her formerly beneficial healing powers had given way to dark magics, enabling her to cast smoldering lightning and summon the aid of fiendish druids. Ysondre and her kin also possessed the ability to induce sleep, sending her unfortunate mortal foes to the realm of their most terrifying nightmares.

 


 

Really looking forward to see them in game again 🙂 Goodnight o/

10 thoughts on “Visiting Dragons of Nightmare (original)

  1. Oh, I know, I lost most of my screenshots from those times too, after a harddrive failure, and still miss them to this day. Luckily we have our memories 🙂 Thank you for taking the time to appreciate it!

    Like

  2. Now, isn’t this good news for me? I had heard and watched videos about those classic world bosses and portal dragons and wished they weren’t removed from the game. And now they are bringing them back? Fantastic!

    The first time I had found a green portal in Duskwood (learned later from Telaron that they are portals to Emerald Dream), it felt a bit disappointing not to have anything related to it, no NPCs around. As I found more, I crated a story draft about them, which I might come back when this changes go live.

    Just happy to learn they are bringing some of the old things back. I hope they do with the MoP cloak too, which I never obtained 😦

    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh, yes, I can imagine that if you’ve never experienced it. I hope so too; I would like to see all the old long quest chains as well.
    I look forward to getting my new flight form today, and it makes me think back to the old quests in Burning Crusade for requiring the original flight form. That too is gone now. It´s sad.
    Oh, I will look very much forward to read such a story from you 🙂

    Like

  4. “… each gigantic footstep shaking the ground and everything around you.”

    And did you ever, like, run the wrong way and run into Stiches by accident during said chase?

    Asking for a friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hah, good question! I so did, oh, wonderful times, thank you for bringing that memory back to me as well.

      Did you? 😉 What a coinsidence, I am also asking for a friend!

      Like

  5. I didn’t know that they are bringing back the old world bosses – that’s so exciting!

    Love the nightmare dragons. I remember coming across them whilst levelling. They were such a mystery to me so I decided to google them, and that’s basically how I discovered WoW lore ^^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

