Asha’falah, Midsummer Fire Festival

My beloved Midsummer Fire Festival.

You are one of my very favorite Holidays in WoW, as well as in real life, and the reason I look so much forward to this time of year.

After two enjoyable weeks, the time has now come to bid you farewell.

 

 

So to you…

 

The holiday that brought me all over the world of Azeroth.

 

From the lush forests of Ashenvale…

WoWScrnShot_070417_111254.jpg

 

 

…And to the stormy desert of Silithus.

WoWScrnShot_070417_110910.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that taught me, that patience is the key…

WoWScrnShot_062217_194402.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that showed me, not all beings are fond of being bon-fire-caretakers…

WoWScrnShot_062117_202733.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that showed me, that all that matters on our journey, are the friends we surround ourselves with…

WoWScrnShot_062317_102243.jpg

WoWScrnShot_063017_133711.jpg

Horn foreground.jpg

WoWScrnShot_062717_140228.jpg

WoWScrnShot_063017_143454.jpg

WoWScrnShot_062717_130001.jpg

 

 

 

To the holiday that made me look up to the sky and discover, that lightning strikes at the most unpredictable of times…

WoWScrnShot_062117_202442.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that reminded me, that laughter can happen in places you would never expect…

WoWScrnShot_062317_102647.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that showed me, that sometimes, you need to be fierce in order to succeed…

WoWScrnShot_062717_141439.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that taught me to appreciate the functionality of my wings…

Silvermoon Fire.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that helped me remember, that every clam has a pearl.

(…If you are lucky it might even have a Blue Pearl, that takes you back 10 years. I can still hear the Murlocs cry…I can still recall the old droprates…I am looking at you, Oh, thee Quest from Badlands called “Pearl Diving”!)

WoWScrnShot_062917_135808.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that took me to one of my favorite places in the world…

WoWScrnShot_062817_105157.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that showed me, that even I can look good in red!

WoWScrnShot_070417_120040.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that taught me, that I cannot have it all, at once…

WoWScrnShot_070417_114205.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that showed me, that a few toys are better than none at all, making me look forward to next year and another chance to obtain the rest…

WoWScrnShot_070417_114126.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that reminded me of the changes to our world, which we often take for granted…

BC Portal.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that brought a smile on my face, time and time again, when it helped me remember, that there are plenty of oceans to explore…

WoWScrnShot_062917_135522.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that brought me to the lands of my enemy…

WoWScrnShot_062917_141811.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that showed me, that you never know, what lurks behind the waterfalls in Sholazar Basin…

WoWScrnShot_063017_203535.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that showed me, that real unicorns does exist…

WoWScrnShot_070117_192553.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that made me realize, that not every city’s fire are meant to be kept burning. Some, has to be stolen..!

WoWScrnShot_070117_194203.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that pushed me to my limits, and helped me discover, just how deep a dive I am able to perform…

WoWScrnShot_070117_194442.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that took me to unknown lands, during the bonfire-breaks, forging new friendships…

wowscrnshot_070417_135333.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that helped me remember to care for my hippogryph…

wowscrnshot_070417_110548.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that reminded me, that – sometimes – all you have to do is sing…

WoWScrnShot_062217_202326

 

 

To the holiday that brought me back to my beloved city, and helped me recall the dance moves of the kaldorei…

WoWScrnShot_070417_113819.jpg

 

 

To the holiday that made me return to the depths of Vashj’ir, and caused me to discover something I never seen before…

WoWScrnShot_063017_130243.jpg

 

 

And finally, to the holiday that helped me master the skills of the flames, so I can lit a bonfire og my own and think back on all the treasured memories I have made this year…

WoWScrnShot_070417_184733.jpg

 

 

I bid you farewell, Midsummer Fire Festival 2017.

WoWScrnShot_070417_185858.jpg

 

 

I hope you all enjoyed this holiday. I sure did. I even managed to get enough Blossoms to purchase 3 parts of the Midsummer set and a Bonfire-Toy too. Not too shabby 🙂

 

 

 

Which part of it was your favorite part, I wonder?

 


 

Bonus Objective for the old timers: In which zone did the quest Pearl Diving (The one with the Blue Pearls) take place? 🙂

 


 

Updated:

You guys have a great vanilla memory! 🙂

Pearl Diving

“The Badlands is a harsh place, filled with vicious predators and bold scavengers. Scary, especially for a short little goblin. To survive, I have to be tricky!

I know the recipe for flash bombs. I use those to scare away wildlife. But I’m running low on one of the ingredients: crushed blue pearl powder. Get me some and I’ll make it worth your efforts.

Heh, and I hope you have good boots on. The Blue Pearls I need are found from clams at the Vile Reef.

Yep, the Vile Reef in Stranglethorn!”

31 thoughts on “Asha’falah, Midsummer Fire Festival

  1. Love your screenshots, especially the Silithus and Undercity ones.

    If memory serves correctly, the blue pearls are from one of my favourite zones. One with tigers and parrots and a certain dwarf with a hunting obsession.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for saying, and taking the time to tell me, those are some of my favorite ones too 🙂

      You are so right – nicely guessed! I like the description of the zone you wrote 😉

      Like

  2. I’m keeping this holiday for next year, waiting for Halloween because i love the magic broom, instant cast and tiny, i wish we can use it all year long, but that will mean most players will only use it, instant cast is so good, Druids know that! anyway, this year i got staff/scythe from Ahune, collected some blossoms, that’s all i did.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by, and telling me a bit about your Midsummer in WoW! Ah, yes, I actually got that Scythe too yesterday, on the very last day possible, phfew 😉

      For sure, instant cast is something I would miss greatly, if I ever played another class.

      Halloween is a very entertaining holiday as well, I think.

      “Here’s my body, fit and pure! Now, your blackened souls I’ll cure!”

      Who cannot recall those words 🙂

      I think this year actually marks the Headless Horseman’s 10 year anniversary even!

      Like

  3. Awesome post filled with nostalgy and awesome remembrances… I love the screenshot where you swim in Westfal… I’ll miss that event. We went to Booty Bay to watch the fireworks, yesterday evening. It was awesome!
    Oh, talking about Booty Bay, wasn’t it around the coasts of STV, near Grom’gol that the blue pearls were located?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so, Gamrok 🙂 Yes, that Orca in Westfall, does she not just look as happy as can be.

      The fireworks were spectacular, I agree! But do tell me, did you remember to use the Inky Black Potion? Wow!

      You are spot on, you guessed it 🙂

      Maybe it used to be a tad more north back in Vanilla, but not entirely sure. Today though, the whole zone is revamped anyway, but yep! In this version of WoW it is close to that 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh noes, I forgot the inky black potion, I guess it’ll be for next year…
        Btw, I won the “unspecified” bonus 🙂 As such, I think I should come up with one of my own… Here it goes: What about a bit of swimming around Darkshore. Auberdine was my all time fav’ 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hah, awww, not to worry, you could not know, there was a few comments awaiting approval 🙂

        I shall take a trip around Darkshore for you in the nearby future – Your guess was genuine, I know Gamrok no cheats! 😉

        Darkshore; That used to be one of my favorite zones too, having played Night Elf for over a decade. I wish one could really toggle back the old version of it though.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Auberdine was supposed to be where Sisqi and I would have retired, when we were still NE druids… I remember the quests: Washed ashore, the absent minded prospector, her love eternal,…
        Also, I really love the pinetree forest on the border of the see. Omg, the nostalgy.
        And it’s all thanks to midsummer… You’re right, that event is one of the best!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Aw, that is a very nice place to retire.

        Hah, aww, reading that name “Washed Ashore” is just…Aah… ♥ For Love Eternal as well, fantastic area.

        I shall see what I can come up with! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    2. The Orcas here at Alunaria’s Avenue are happy to report, that your Bonus Objective Price; “Let’s explore the ocean of Darkshore” – post has just gone into the making and should arrive within this week.

      We hope you will enjoy it as much as we enjoyed making it for you, and we welcome you back in the nearby future!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank for this lovely telling of your experience of the Midsummer Festival. I have sort of ignored it for years. Your post makes me look forward to it next year. 🙂

    I did do some last minute scramble to at least get one toy and a few achievements. You inspired me during the week. Thank you 🙂

    Blue pearls… I remember an annoying quest gathering pearls off STV coast with elite murlocs around. It hurt. A LOT. Plus air lasted shorter time back then. Is it that one?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, I’m so glad to hear that the entusiasm rubs off like that, thank you so for saying 🙂

      Oh, which one did you decide to get?

      That is correct!

      The Murlocs did hurt, a lot! And, oh, can you recall them running/swimming away in fear, but since they were Elite, you almost always failed to take them down fast enough, you’d hold your breath (in more ways than one, but no…It pulled more. Mrrglllglll! )

      I’m sure, if Blizzard tracks it, then that quest is one of the top one to be Abandoned :p I think I had it way into my 50s.

      Ah yeah, air under water did last a lot shorter back then 🙂

      Like

      1. I wouldn’t be surprised if that was one of the most abandoned quests in vanilla wow! xD
        I manage to collect 500, so went for the run, scream and burn thingie. Basically me in some raid, that is! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post… filled with such lovely remembrances 😊
    Personally, I really loved the fireworks the most. I always look forward to that moment ❤
    About the blue pearls… I remember searching for those around the coasts of STV… Wasn't it for some engineering quest?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so, Sisqi 🙂 Me too. It was a fantastic way to say goodbye to the holiday!

      Oh, that is nicely remembered; the Questgiver in Badlands who gave it, was indeed using things for engineering 🙂

      Ohh, the details of it are still on WoWhead even, cool! I’ll add that to the post, now it has been guessed 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I loved how you showed me why you love this festival so much 🙂 it was fun travel around the world and gather bonfires with you, you can say it lighten my fire for this midsummer holiday :D, and yes who knows what lurks behind a waterfall!

    My favorite part under midsummer was when we flyed around legion geting all the bonfires and we stoped by an angry vrykul who spit on you and i remember the King Ymiron Follower that warriors have when you press him he starts curshing “(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c6EWYC8uVTg)” ^^

    But for that bonus objective miss, i dont even remember, pearl divinig at all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

