Saving Sharpbeak…Where is he today?

 

This was originally part of my Top 15 caves post, but in my research, I came to realize, that it actually did not take much part in caves; I mixed up various quests, I did at the same time.

But this quest deserves mentioning regardless of that, because of what I came across (and have forgotten earlier, it seems!)

It inspired me to write this piece, and with the help of old quest descriptions, screenshots from back then and screenshots from today, paired with a matching transmog from that exact era of the game, I will try and recapture this captivating quest, just as it was, over a decade ago.

 

WoWScrnShot_071917_093407.jpg

 

The quest took place in…

 

Hinterlands

WoWScrnShot_071317_113955.jpg

 

 

This beauty of a zone holds a very special place in my heart, because of it. The quest I think back on is Saving Sharpbeak.

Sharpbeak was a very young gryphon back then, destined for great things. But upon arriving at Aerie Peak…

WoWScrnShot_071917_093516

 

 

…the Gryphon Master Talonaxe, belonging to the Wildhammer clan, informed you, that Sharpbeak had been captured, most likely by the viscious trolls in the area.

 

“The son of our mightiest gryphon is gone! Swiftwing’s heir, Sharpbeak, was lost while hunting with his parents a few days ago, and we believe it was the trolls who took him. You must aid us! Search the cages in the two Witherbark troll villages to see if Sharpbeak is there.”

 

 

You probably could not help but admire the gorgeous view that met you, as you began your search.

wowscrnshot_071917_094031.jpg

 

 

You did your best in order to track down the son of Swiftwing…

 

 

 

And the trolls you encountered were indeed viscious!

WoWScrnShot_071917_094525

 

 

…But despite your best efforts, sadly, your search was not succesful.

wowscrnshot_071917_094529-e1500480686155.jpg

 

 

When you returned to Mister Talonaxe, you learn, just how important a role Sharpbeak had been destined to fulfill.

 

“Sharpbeak wasn’t at the villages? Hm… this is grim news. That gryphon is destined to lead the next generation of gryphons. If he is lost then the strength and spirit of our fleet will suffer immensely.”

 

WoWScrnShot_071917_093744

 

 

Of course there was no giving up.

“Sharpbeak was not with the “Witherbark trolls. Perhaps the Vilebranch trolls took him. Go to the Altar of Zul on the western edge of Vilebranch territory and search for the gryphon child.

Hurry, Alunaria! If the Vilebranch trolls have Sharpbeak, then who knows what they might be doing with him!”

 

 

And as you continued your search, this time, it brought you to the Altar of Zul…

 

 

SS1.jpg

 

 

You were met by countless of Trolls, but fuelled with rage and a desire to return the son of Swiftwing to his parents, you marched on, and did not let nothing stand in your way.

wowscrnshot_071917_094907.jpg

WoWScrnShot_071917_095200

 

 

…But to no avail.

WoWScrnShot_071917_095121

 

 

No sign of Sharpbeak at the Altar of Zul either. And once again, you had to return to Aerie Peak…

WoWScrnShot_071917_095411.jpg

 

 

And deliver the sad news to Mister Talonaxe.

wowscrnshot_071917_095442.jpg

 

 

Troubled, Mister Talonaxe said…

“Sharpbeak wasn’t there? That is bad news, but it is good news too…

It is good that he was not at the Altar of Zul for the Vilebranch trolls are known for performing sacrifices.

I thank you for all of your aid, but I’m afraid I have an even greater task ahead.”

 

 

…Famous for this era of the game, a magneficient quest like this rarely occured in one zone alone. You were often sent across the continent, and this time was no different; Mister Talonaxe now asked you to venture to Blasted Lands, in hopes that someone named Thadius could help in locating Sharpbeak…

 

“Take this feather to Thadius Grimshade, the diviner. He left Aerie Peak years ago to pursue darker knowledge, but in his heart he is still a Wildhammer!
And perhaps his talents can help us find Sharpbeak.

This feather was taken from the nest where the gryphon child sleeps. If you give it to Thadius then, with luck, he can use his divining magics to find Sharpbeak. Good luck, Alunaria. You will find Thadius in the Blasted Lands, in the mage tower of Nethergarde Keep.”

 

 

Blasted Lands? You thought to yourself, and swiftly checked the map Talonaxe provided you with…

WoWScrnShot_071917_095529.jpg

 

 

Without a flightpath – perhaps this was even your very first time to Blasted Lands, your journey now continued on foot and gryphon – if you had not managed to save up the needed, 100 gold, was it – for a mount. (Luckily I had – I think – enough money around level 46)

Most likely a few flight paths were in your reach at least, so you might have  been able to travel to Duskwood by gryphon.

 

 

As the gloomy forest of this zone surrounded you, you begun making your way towards Blasted Lands, through unknown territory. You hesitated to go down the road leading south in Deadwind Pass…

WoWScrnShot_071917_192616.jpg

 

 

…and instead continued through Swamp of Sorrows, making sure to stay clear of the grunts that would patrol the road…

 

 

And as you would reach Blasted Lands…

WoWScrnShot_071917_193220.jpg

 

 

…You attempted to resist straying too far from the sidewalk, and instead went straight towards your destination; the mage tower in Nethergarde Keep.

WoWScrnShot_071917_193314.jpg

 

 

 

You were filled with relief, once you reached Thadius Grimshade , as he proved capable of assisting your cause.

WoWScrnShot_071917_193530.jpg

 

“Alunaria, you come bearing a gift?

Ah, yes. This feather belongs to a fine gryphon. One destined for great things… if he can survive into adulthood undamaged.
You wish to find him? Then listen close, brave Druid.”

 

But all magic comes with a price, and apparently Mister Thadius belives, that it is one favor for another, so he asks you to bring him a Medallion from – not just any place, but  Zul’Farrak.

WoWScrnShot_071917_193559

 

“I’ll find out where your gryphon is, but first you have to do something for me. There’s a troll in Zul’Farrak, Nekrum Gutchewer, who possesses a medallion I would very much like to study. Bring me that Medallion and I’ll use my powers to find Sharpbeak.

Zul’Farrak is across the ocean to the west, in the desert of Tanaris.”

 

Zul’Farrak; A place far away, it involved several gryphons, a boatride and both forests and deserts were on your journey ahead. Perhaps an elevator or two, depending on where you would be travelling from. You might not even have discovered Tanaris yet, so the journey was long; maybe you had to sail from Booty Bay and to Ratchet and then work your way down south.

 

WoWScrnShot_071917_195102

 

 

 

Zul’Farrak; A place that once took a group several hours to complete, filled with Sandfury trolls.

WoWScrnShot_071917_195710

 

 

Not to mention the famous stairs event, where you would get waves of dangerous foes, that never seemed to stop coming…

WoWScrnShot_071917_200215.jpg

 

 

Nekrum Gutchewer was the Troll you were searching for though…

wowscrnshot_071917_200528.jpg

 

 

…and through combined forces of a strong group, his medallion became yours, and you are finally able to return to Thadius.

wowscrnshot_071917_1935301.jpg

 

 

He said…

“Do you have Nekrum’s Medallion, Alunaria? There are powers hidden within it that I am eager to discover…

Ah, the medallion of Nekrum. It is rumored to have given the troll an unnatural long life, but at a cost. I hope to discover a way to reap the medallion’s power while avoiding its… unpleasant side effects.

You have done me a service, Alunaria. I shall now uphold my end of our bargain.”

 

WoWScrnShot_071917_193435.jpg

 

 

You waited patiently by Thadius, as he performed his ritual, in attempt to locate Sharpbeak.

“Give me room while I perform a ritual of divination. I will find the connection between the feather you brought me and its owner, and follow that connection to Sharpbeak himself.
That is… I will if all goes according to plan. If it does not, then… you better close your eyes.”

 

 

You held your breath, even after Thadius appeared done with his ritual, and anxiously you awaited, as he finally spoke;

“The ritual was a success. I have seen Sharpbeak and can tell you how to find him.

Sharpbeak is held in a cage, high on a cliff at the top of Jintha’Alor in the Hinterlands. The key to this cage is possessed by the high priestess of the Vilebranch trolls, Vile Priestess Hexx.

There. I have done my part. I bid you fortune on your quest, Alunaria.”

 

 

With no time to waste (This had, very likely, already taken you days to complete) you rushed back to Mister Talonaxe – now all the flightpaths hopefully had been discovered, and the journey back no longer took you hours.

WoWScrnShot_071917_201359

 

 

As you arrived, even this sturdy dwarf appeared very much affected by the circumstances. So were you!

WoWScrnShot_071917_201634.jpg

 

“You’ve spoken with Grimshade? What did he say?

…What? The Vilebranch trolls have Sharpbeak? That’s unbearable! We must organize a force to get him back!

We must save Sharpbeak!

Fight your way to the top of Jintha’Alor in the heart of Vilebranch territory, gain the key to Sharpbeak’s cage from the vile Priestess Hexx, and then find and save Sharpbeak!”

 

Now…Fighting to the top of the ancient troll city Jintha’Alor was no minor task back then.

This place was extremely difficult, filled with the strongest of foes, swift respawns, and it required a good group, quick on their feet, to make it all the way up to the Vile Priestess Hexx – the ruler of the Vilebranch troll tribe. (She was also guarding the Altar of  Jintha’Alor; the place where you had to go to create the Mallet of Zul’Farrak – an item needed to spawn Gahz’rilla)

There existed no Looking For Group tools, so you couldvery well have spent hours finding a group in General/Trade chat around the zone.

But finally, equipped to your teeth, you went forward!

 

 

These trolls were not a walk in the part; they were all Elite and closely packed together in crowds. You fought bravely, and finding your way around was a challenge as well!

wowscrnshot_071917_203433.jpg

 

 

 

Vile Priestess Hexx was no easy troll to take down – she would play evil tricks and hex your group, and heal. But with Sharpbeaks destiny, his parents, and the dwarves of the Wildhammer clan in your thoughts, you were successful…

https://c2.staticflickr.com/2/1315/1448045379_b560c10379_z.jpg?zz=1

 

 

And the key to Sharpbeak’s cage was now in your hands, and only a few trolls were left to stand in your way.

WoWScrnShot_071317_114410.jpg

 

 

You fought your way to the cave and as you ran through it, you prayed to find Sharpbeak alive.

WoWScrnShot_071917_204512.jpg

 

 

And you did…

SS2.jpg

 

 

With the key in your hand, you swiftly unlocked his cage, and as his parents arrived, the little family was finally reunited.

amiyuy 043007 220559

 

 

 

Sharpbeak then turned to you and showed you his gratitude;  “Sharpbeak chirps a goodbye to you”…

Sharpbeak2.jpg

 

 

…before they happily flew away together. 

 

Somewhat weary, you now began to make your way back to Aerie Peak…

WoWScrnShot_071917_093550.jpg

 

And upon delivering the quest to Gryphon Master Talonaxe, you are being told the following…

 

“Swiftwind and Keenclaw returned with their child moments ago, and are fussing over him like new parents. Seeing them together again is enough to give even this old dwarf mist in the eyes…

We cannot repay you enough for what you have done, Alunaria. The gryphons of Aerie peak, and their riders, will sing your name for a long, long time.”

 

Saving Sharpbeak1.jpg

 


 

That brings us to today…

 

Do you know, what happened with Sharpbeak?

 

Let us run to the exact location, where we once saved him…

WoWScrnShot_071317_114446.jpg

 

 

Who is there in the distance…?

WoWScrnShot_071317_114452.jpg

 

 

It is indeed, Sharpbeak.

WoWScrnShot_071317_114707.jpg

 

 

He has developed into a majestic and mature gryphon, who still resides in Hinterlands, and he is now assisting the Wildhammer dwarves.

WoWScrnShot_071317_114719.jpg

 

 

He will even recognize you, and without blinking an eye, offer to take you to the skies of Hinterlands.

WoWScrnShot_071317_114511

 

 

Also, by night… 😉

WoWScrnShot_071917_204855.jpg

 


 

That is an example of a very nice way to “migrate” the changes to the world that Cataclysm brought, I think – and I just wanted to share it.

The post became a lot longer, than I originally had intended, that seems to be a reoccuring theme around my blog, hmm…So thank you for sticking with me till the end, and have a wonderful day 🙂

 


 

I found a great video that shows the last part of this long quest chain here.

 

 


 

Thank you to Wisteria for joining me on the very last step of this long quest line, making it possible for even greater screenshots and a much greater joy while doing it.

 

Oh, and a bonus screenshot from behind the scenes of this post in the making 😉

WoWScrnShot_071917_200828.jpg

23 thoughts on “Saving Sharpbeak…Where is he today?

  1. Oh wow, this brings back so many memories. It was such a nice quest!

    I used to love those long quest chains that spanned over several zones or continents – they weren’t great for XP but it was great a great way to explore the world and feel like I had really accomplished something (at least in-game!).

    I’m trying to think of similar quests but nothing comes to mind at the moment, except for the netherfaerie dragon quest in Mulgore that awarded a pet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Bryssa 🙂 Yes, that is actually true; many just abandoned those kind of quests – it felt nice to be able to see them through to the end. Oh, yes, that one, hm, was there another one starting in Feralas too, with a netherfaerie pet?

      Like

  2. Fantastic! Amazing telling and beautiful screenshots. Also, great idea to do this post in the gear from that time, it definitely adds to the feeling 😉

    I love Hinterlands, such a fantastic zone. Years ago, I wrote the story of my druid, who was called Aerons because of Aerie peak (he was raised by dwarves). I also remember a very beautiful little dwarven house, very cosy… It’s also in Hinterlands that I farmed ghost mushrooms for weeks to be able to pay my mount.

    That quest chain is one of the best in the game. I love it when they make you travel and run dungeons,…

    Omg, the stair event in Zul Farak. How to ever forget it 🙂

    I never thought about going back to see what Sharpbeak had become… Glad to hear that he is well 🙂

    Once again, thank you for the nostalgy, Alu 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a huge bunch for saying! 🙂 Hah, I am glad the old school transmog added to it; now I look at it again, it sure did help a lot to immerse myself, actually.

      Ohh, I see, thank you for the little background-story 🙂

      You did not know what Sharpbeak had become!? Gosh, I am glad I could show you then, you are so welcome 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Having done Loremaster pre-Cata, I’ve done my share of trek across the world X number of times questlines. However, I did it as Horde so never got to see this one. Thank you! Sometimes I miss the adventure of not knowing where the heck I’m going or how to get there. It’s one of the things I like best about new expansions … setting aside the grind and just seeing new places. And hopefully saving cool animals and people along the way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I am so very glad I can show you then – I personally really enjoy reading about quest lines from the Horde Side, since I always played Alliance, so I do not know of those from the other side either 🙂 Thank you so!

      Yes, me too, seeing new places, and just go on exploring is one of the best things. Fingers crossed for that indeed 🙂

      Like

  4. I loved those kinds of questlines in the pre-Cata world, too. Like repgrind, I did the Horde ones, though, so I missed out on this one. I’ve always wondered about Sharpbeak, though, seeing him up there at the top of Jintha’alor — what was his story? Thanks for sharing it with us!

    I’m glad that I had a leveling companion (and pocket tank), though, or I would have found the dungeons and group quest areas to be very intimidating. I don’t know if I would have had the social chutzpah to have been able to get together/find a group to do them with.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 That is so great to hear, I am glad you enjoyed it – and even have been wondering about it!

      Oh, I imagine that indeed; such a pocket tank and levelling companion sure must have been handy back then. I can still recall a certain point around my level 45ish, where most of the quests in my quest log was marked [Elite] for a good while 🙂

      Like

  5. Awesome 🙂 I had completely forgotten about this questline… Thanks for the nice trip down memory lane and for showing us that our saving adventure wasn’t in vain 🙂 I love this kind of detail in the game… Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That was a great story! It brought back many memories and I thank you.
    I sort of believe that back then that they didn’t have a whole lot of content in the game and so sending you a-traveling was a good filler for your time. How welcome Tanaris was to me with the wide open expanse, especially after the claustrophobic zones of running down unknown pathways full of trees, hills and danger.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so for taking the time to read it all, so glad you enjoyed it 🙂

      Oh, yeah, that actually make sense, too – I never thought of it like that before.

      Hah, yes, there was something about those “flat areas” actually, in a good way. Like Thousand Needles and Tanaris too. I would actually like to see a zone such as that once again.

      Like

  7. It was a joy to relive a little of the Sharpbeak story. One of my favorite chains ever in wow. Thank you 🙂
    Hinterlands is a wonderful zone. Apart from the mushroom grinding in that cave, mentioned by Gamrok above.
    Curio: when killing trolls in zone, and turning in beads, you got rep for Wildhammer Clan, even though there were no rewards. I read back in the day someone actually grinded to exalted just to check if there was some surprise reward, but there was none. I guess it was one of those things Blizzard started on, but never really finished, in vanilla.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for joining me 🙂

      Ooh, I did not know of that; I do remember those beads and turning them in, once, but never considered to keep at it. That sure shows dedication back then; to keep at it until exalted. 🙂

      Like

  8. Oh, I remember this quest, but I don’t know if I ever completed it since it requiered a dungeon.
    It’s so nice to see the connection between pre-cata and now. I’ve done Hinterlands with a few alliance alts, but I never paid much attention to the gryphon there. Next time I will!
    I kinda miss these long quest chains where you had to travel from one zone to another and to another and then back.
    Thank you for your post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I am glad you liked it, Leto! And even more glad it makes you keep a closer eye next time you’re around in Hinterlands 🙂

      Yes me too, I miss them a lot. I guess the world feels a lot smaller now, that we can fly on our own…

      You are so welcome, thank you so for appreciating it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh. My. God. I just loved this post!!!! I don’t think I ever did the quest, but… 😥 it’s so emotional! It made be want to go to Hinterlands and check Stormbeak! I bet you were happy to see your old friend after that adventure and so much time! 😀 Thank you for sharing this amazing experience!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. N’aww, thank you for your genuinely happy comment 🙂

      I hope it told the story well, and made it come to life, even when you have never done it in game yourself. It was a very epic quest and adventure.

      And I adore how Stormbeak has grown up and is still around – Thank you very much for your appreciation. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, you told the story really well 😀
        I actually went to try and find Sharpbeak (I just noticed on my previous comment I wrote Stormbeak xD sorry about that) and I got so happy to see him! I clicked on him and he let me fly ^^ Amazing! Because of your post, I actually got some feelings of nostalgia for him!

        BTW, I don’t know if you know this, but the model for Sharpbeak is the same as the model for the Swift Green Gryphon! They look exactly the same 😀 So, if you have the mount, you can fly with Sharpbeak anytime you want!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That comment means a lot to me, I am so glad a feeling of nostalgia can be shared and awaken that way 🙂

        Yes it is the same model, how awesome is that 🙂 And so adorable he flew you to the exact spot where we saved him, that many years ago. How wonderful to hear you wanted to pay him a visit after reading my post. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

