Auction House Dance Party 2017 – 10 reasons to love it

The main auction houses in Orgrimmar and Stormwind have been cleaned out and turned into Dance Studios for the day!

Crowd on in and show some faction pride!

 

Well, this Micro Holiday sure was fun for me! I ended up spending my entire daily hour of gametime doing just…Well, dancing.

I didn’t expect that, honestly. But it was quite entertaining I think, and something different for sure.

The things that were great…

WoWScrnShot_072217_200600.jpg

 


 

  1. The race teleport to the stage. Every now and again – quite often even – there were these “race calls” where 5 from the same race would get teleported up on the “stage” for 15 seconds of fame, while the NPC Marla comments on it, such as

 

“Night elves! Show us how you get down up in Teldrassil!”

Or

“I heard a rumor that humans can’t dance. Prove me wrong!”

WoWScrnShot_072217_200648.jpg

 

Sadly there were no other class calls during the time I was able to play. What did she say to the rest? Please share, if you know πŸ™‚

WoWScrnShot_072217_201258

 

You also would gain the buff:

 

Dance7

 

Which stacks up to a maximum of 7 days – your character also bursts into dance whenever you stand still, more or less.

 


 

2. Expressions!

With every race, their emotes, including dancing, brings out various funny facial expressions, that we rarely get to see – and it’s just so laughable, when you even catch them on a screenshot.

wowscrnshot_072217_195931.jpg

Dance5.jpg

wowscrnshot_072217_200505.jpg

WoWScrnShot_072217_195727

 

I mean, look at that human there, haha πŸ˜€ Having a grand time, I am sure!

wowscrnshot_072217_201618.jpg

KittyGuy

 


 

3. The Guards!

Despite all of this happening, the Guards of Stormwind appeared completely unaffected, which looked hilarious. They would just enter with a stoneface, walk around and leave again, lol πŸ™‚

Dance1.jpg

WoWScrnShot_072217_200145.jpg

 


 

4. The disco ball!

Need I say more? That’s just awesome πŸ™‚

Dance4.jpg

 


 

5. Druids! Just…We have more fun. We just do.

 

wowscrnshot_072217_202749.jpg

wowscrnshot_072217_200804.jpg

WoWScrnShot_072217_200942.jpg

 


 

6. Toys!

They worked! And since my server (normally, sadly) is quite low populated, it did not cause mayhem, with a ton of players spamming them; it just added to the fun. Here I am as a teeny tiny Moonkin. How adorable is that!?

wowscrnshot_072217_201459.jpg

 

Also. Rainbows. Gotta have Rainbows!

WoWScrnShot_072217_203021.jpg

 

And the teleporting to the stage really resulted in some hilarious events too.

WoWScrnShot_072217_203154.jpg

 

Aw, Ysera…

wowscrnshot_072217_203238.jpg

 

Bubbleeeees, my bubbles.

WoWScrnShot_072217_201057.jpg

 


 

7. Players Unaware!

Whenever a player, who had no idea, that this event was going on, would run into the Auction House, they would instantly begin to dance. It was just so amusing to see them,Β  you could almost imagine, how they looked at their screen, going “Whaaaaat?!”.

WoWScrnShot_072217_200141.jpg

 


 

8. The joy of Trade chat and /Say, which more often than not, looked like this:

wowscrnshot_072217_2028562.jpg

 


 

9. The Boom box.

Seriously, that is cool, isn’t it!

WoWScrnShot_072217_195821.jpg

 


 

10. Expanding my knowledge on the other races.

I never really knew how the Pandaren dance (I know…) but, gosh, they are quite cute!

wowscrnshot_072217_200142.jpg

 

Also, worgens! (I can now fully understand, why Worgens have been asking for a visual upgrade to their character look for quite some time, though.)

WoWScrnShot_072217_200334.jpg

 


 

That’s about it from me on the 10 positive things πŸ™‚

I wish it lasted a little longer though, like most other Micro Holidays. One day is simply too short; it is not easy for everyone to set aside time on any given day to attend these things; and waiting an entire year is somewhat demotivating too, I think. (I almost missed it, thank you Bryssa for your post on this event, so I remembered!)

Also I wish there existed one or two breadcrumb quests, to help these events sort of “migrate” better into ongoing gameplay.

Anyway, I hope you got a chance to enjoy it too, please let me know, if you happened to catch what the NPC said as part of your race call, because I only got to hear the one of Night Elves and Humans πŸ™‚

23 thoughts on “Auction House Dance Party 2017 – 10 reasons to love it

  1. I was somewhat disappoint that they didn’t have it at Ironforge. IF is the original Alliance AH, after all. While everyone was chillin’ in Lagforge undercutting their neighbors, the AH in Stormwind was a big empty room that everyone was going “eh what’s that?” at. So yeah, one for tradition, here. I realize that SW having two AHs and only one being converted was the least inconvenience to players, but I don’t really accept that from the people that introduced that horrid train set toy or those nasty motorcycleses or …. Oops, rabbit hole there, let me put the cap back on my well of bitterness.

    Where was I?

    Oh – also the case for the Ironforge AH is far more compelling and compatible. As the song says, there ain’t no party like an Ironforge party ’cause them Ironforge dorfs don’t stop.

    /mic drop

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You are very right; I sort of expected this to take place in all Auction Houses too; but Ironforge would have made the most sense for sure! I can still recall the days, where Stormwind simply were quite deserted, and only those low level players begging for gold for their mounts would hang about. And – Oh, you are right, rabbit hole indeed πŸ™‚

      Maybe in the future, indeed. But yeah, it does make sense to have it in the most active “travel hub” of all.

      Like

  2. There is an “Angry Trader” outside the Auction House, a female gnome complaining about the whole thing, nice touch from Blizzard, to be honest i was having more fun with grumpy people who complained about this event, i’m a boring person in real life (honestly i’m!) and i call them no fun! no harm in dancing a little, need AH? fly to the other one in the city.

    In my server AH was full, it was amusing to see full set of dancers in the stage, all races, what i regret is not going to Horde auction house on my alt πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Oh, gosh, I didn’t notice! Thank you for telling πŸ™‚ That is very cool.

      Hah, I know, these Micro Holidays and everything else sure can generate a lot of complaints. It was fun πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. The Horde AH on Dreanor was total mayhem. It was full, everybody was popping toys and yelling… I also wish that it lasted a bit longer, maybe not as long as a full world event, but something like a 4 days week-end.
    But it sure was fun and the buff kept me dancing during my fishing hours πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh damn, ok. I guess this time around it was in my favor that my server is less populated.

      Though I would have liked to hear all the class calls. What did they say for Orcs, did you notice?

      It totally was πŸ™‚

      Haha, I know, the buff worked when doing pet battles too.

      Liked by 2 people

    2. The buff made me laugh , cause it made me dance all the way through the raid… raiding in style ^^

      Other than that it was a complete chaos in there… like a big mosh pit… wish it would have lasted longer though ^^

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hah, yes, same here, while doing pet battles and what not as well – I wonder how those who RP have it right now… πŸ˜› I tried to click the buff off earlier today because I had to take some screenies, but it stayed there, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I briefly went into mine. It was fairly crowded, some people made themselves so big you couldn’t really see. I did get ported up once, but a 20 foot tall Tauren in the room made getting a picture impossible. By the time I thought about getting the selfie camera out, I was more than ready to leave. These micro holidays just aren’t for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right, I can certainly understand that; some toys must have been getting in the way for sure. I imagine or hope that Blizzard might disable a few of those for next time around. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I had forgotten about it, just went to SW for some ah business. Strange as I usually do that in Darnassus, but there must have been a disco lure… I forgot why I went to AH, even forgot there is another AH in SW. It was fun! But didn’t have much time to play that day. I was lucky to be teleported to stage while being an orc from orb of deception. They should have disco Saturday once a month or something πŸ˜€
    With some planning one might even make some fitting transmog!!
    Now I am going to look up some Donna Summer on Youtube πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

