A tribute to Russell Brower – over a decade of gratitude

It is with sadness I read, that Russell Brower, the man who brought us some of the most memorable and magnificent music in World of Warcraft, is leaving Blizzard.

I try to stay positive on my blog, and it is not my intention to dive into a long debate about the reasons for this – nor do I want to bash Blizzard for whatever is going on behind the scenes; because I do not know. I can only speculate.

Instead I just want to make this post as a tribute to mister Russell…

 

WoWScrnShot_072417_094648.jpg

 

 

Russel1.jpg

 

 

WoWScrnShot_072417_101418.jpg

 


 

If anyone is interested, Russell Brower’s Facebook page and his post is here

His Twitter is here

To anyone familiar with my work at #Blizzard,

It’s with a heavy heart that I post this status update, but as they say, “all good things…”

I’m extremely proud of the amazingly talented team I helped build and the creative output we’ve accomplished together over these past 12 years. As the company has grown, the topography of the Sound team has adjusted accordingly, and the last couple of years have been no exception. With the success of a “sound de-centralization” initiative, my current position of overall Sr. Audio Director/Composer is no longer relevant and is being eliminated.

Today is my last day, though there is an excellent chance I will continue to contribute to Blizzard’s projects as a freelance composer. Obviously, I have a lot to figure out, so I do not have any further information to share as to what I will be doing next….yet. (Except for my solo album— that is well under way; stay tuned!)

I would like to express my heartfelt thanks to EVERYONE reading this: all of our Players, Music Lovers, and the countless new friends I’ve made worldwide, for the incredible and indelible life experiences I have enjoyed while at Blizzard. Especially the Players— each of you have truly enriched our lives by playing our games, meeting us at #BlizzCon and #Nerdtacular, attending our music concerts the world over, enjoying our soundtrack albums and sheet music— the list goes on and on. We have so much to be proud of and I am truly grateful to each of you and to all my Blizzard colleagues for putting up with me over the last 12 years and teaching me so much.

I look forward to staying in touch with ALL of you, be it here on FaceBook, Twitter (handle-change coming up), and at future concerts (actually I have several #VGL shows still to come this year in Europe, China and Brazil.)
WATCH THIS SPACE for news of my solo album, the first track of which I just recorded in June with 51 of the FINEST studio musicians in Los Angeles!!! #AFM #Local47 FTW!

Wishing each of you all my best, with tons of gratitude,

Russell Brower
a.k.a. RB

 

 


 

Did you know, that Russell has his own NPC in the game?

He is located in Kirthaven in Twillight Highlands.

WoWScrnShot_072417_094743.jpg

 

 

He even offers a quest, called “Words and Music By…” in which you assist him with writing a song. (You have to do some parts before being able to obtain the quest)

Go do it today as an honor to Russell 🙂

 

WoWScrnShot_072417_101345.jpg

 


 

Russell Brower

Russell Brower was senior director of audio and lead composer at Blizzard Entertainment.[1][2] He is a well known music composer who has created and directed music for World of Warcraft, StarCraft II, Diablo III and Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft. He left the company July 22, 2017 due to his position being eliminated, but indicated that he would likely work with Blizzard as a freelance composer in the future.[3]

https://i1.wp.com/thedisneyblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/russell_brower-620x.jpeg

 


 

 

 


 

Thank you for everything, Russell Brower. We sure look forward to your solo album!

 

Russel3

 


 

Added July 29th.;

 

Mister Russell responded to this tribute, and it brought me to tears. I have to admit I find it hard to continue playing a game, paying people who was responsible for a decision such as eliminating Russell Brower’s position.

 

 

Russell Brower response.jpg

 

 

Russell Brower, always remember how your music has such an impact on us, that it cannot even be described with words. Thank you for all of it.

 

Look at how passionate he is in this video…

 

Found an inspiring interview with Russell Brower here too.

13 thoughts on “A tribute to Russell Brower – over a decade of gratitude

    1. Thank you so much. Me too. It sure will not be the same…

      I really hope Russell will still be around as a freelance composer. I have been listening to his music all day today, while putting together Eeyore’s house outside, and I turned the music up in game, just a little more than usual…

      I cannot imagine WoW without the captivating music.

      Times change. I am not fond of change like this. #EmotionalAlunariaIsEmotional

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I find myself listening to those soundtracks even more closely now. I’m also quite curious about his solo album. Depending on how it will be, maybe one could use it in game too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, you are right, at least it’s still around. I always disliked how they changed the original zones, but its way worse if they change the music; Like they did in Scholomance for example. Fingers crossed that will not happen with more 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

