A tour around the ocean of Darkshore

 

Sir Gamrok over at The Brutes won my Bonus Objective Challenge almost a month ago (in my Midsummer post), and so, the Orcas here at Alunaria’s Avenue are finally able to deliver the price he selected; A tour around the ocean in Darkshore!

 

Gamrok1.jpg

 

I had been looking forward to this, however, with mixed feelings. Much like Gamrok, I miss our old Darkshore, the way it used to be.

My return this week made me realize, just how much it changed, as I tried to tour around visiting the places I can recall, and the places he too mentioned as quests and areas that really stands out, after all these years.

 


 

But let us begin.:)

When I did Saving Sharpbeak not long ago, I realized, how much it means to have a fitting transmog for the particular era, I am visiting.

So first (as most of my days go…) a trip to the transmog dude!

I went in looking like this…

WoWScrnShot_080217_120107.jpg

 

 

And came out looking like this!

WoWScrnShot_080217_122935.jpg
N’awww don’t I just look (level) 10 again!? 🙂

 

 

Right so, first major change; There is no boat to Auberdine anymore. Naturally, I suppose, since it was shattered.

WoWScrnShot_080217_123015.jpg

WoWScrnShot_080217_123023.jpg

WoWScrnShot_080217_123048.jpg
There is no boat.

 

 

But that did not stop me from going as natural about it as I would back then, so out with my raft and off I go.

WoWScrnShot_080217_123113.jpg

WoWScrnShot_080217_123257.jpg

 

 

First just a, sad, inspection of how Auberdine actually looks today…We might as well get that out of the way, right?

WoWScrnShot_080217_123340.jpg

WoWScrnShot_080217_123430.jpg

WoWScrnShot_080217_123454.jpg

 

 

This really gets to me; how Deathwing changed everything, and took away some of our beloved NPCs…

During the quests in the area, this somehow stands out very clear – showing just howmuch of an impact, Cataclysm had. Much like Legion has on some parts, but somehow, these “small NPCs” feel of much greater value to me, since they took care of all my needs in my low levels on all my Night Elves…

wowscrnshot_080217_123508-e1501692201356.jpg

wowscrnshot_080217_123514.jpg

 

 

So very sad, but impossible to ignore on this tour, as the Darkshore and Auberdine we once knew sure is no more.

WoWScrnShot_080217_123536.jpg

WoWScrnShot_080217_123559.jpg

 


 

Phfew…Now that we have taken a deep breath and accepted (never!) the scenery of today, we move onto the actual tour. 🙂

 

Darkshore is a vast strip of a jagged coastline on the northwestern part of Kalimdor. It is known for its characteristically gloomy woods and rocky beaches, littered with ancient ruins and mountainside caves. The night elves of Teldrassil claim this shoreline as part of their ancient realm and despite recent disasters such as the destruction of the ruined port town of Auberdine and the newly arrived Twilight’s Hammer clan and Shatterspear trolls during the cataclysm, their influence on the zone is still dominating.

 

WoWScrnShot_080217_123717.jpg

 

 

Happy Orca is trying her best to be happy and hopes it will rub off! Also, double Orca really is double cuteness.

WoWScrnShot_080217_123826.jpg

 

 

First, we head out straight west of Auberdine, to visit one of the gigantic turtle remains.

Oh, who cannot remember these quests, called Washed Ashore, was it?

Where you had to gather lots of these, and they were all over the shores – and crawling with Murlocs too. This one used to have, was it Threshers, around them.

WoWScrnShot_080217_123841.jpg

WoWScrnShot_080217_123903

 

 

Now I also wanted to hunt for the two ships, that was involved in the quest called Deep Ocean, Vast Sea

Gosh, that quest. My first underwater quest. No Aquatic form yet…And…Murlocs. And undersea, did I mention? Back when the ability to breathe was far shorter than it is today. And it was a pain to navigate up and down in the ships (still is!). And murlocs. Hah, memories 🙂

So, I searched and searched…Till I came across two ships close to each other.

WoWScrnShot_080217_124137.jpg

WoWScrnShot_080217_123938.jpg

 

 

But there was not a single Murloc in sight.

WoWScrnShot_080217_124236.jpg

WoWScrnShot_080217_124359.jpg
Totally a Murloc.

 

 

Well, if we have to lose our beloved NPCs, so shall the Murlocs, I guess?

I found Murlocs elsewhere though, and plenty of them! Maybe the ships moved radically in Cataclysm?

Screenshot or it did not happen, you say? Ok then!

WoWScrnShot_080217_125153.jpg

wowscrnshot_080217_125236.jpg

WoWScrnShot_080217_125025.jpg
Vicious Orca is vicious.

 

 

At least these remains are still around, as we knew them…

WoWScrnShot_080217_124426.jpg

 

 

And who can forget that quest, handed by this crazy Gnome, that made you run across the entire zone!

WoWScrnShot_080217_124545.jpg

 

 

Swimming to Rut’ theran Village from Darkshore is a very short trip, as can be seen here.

wowscrnshot_080217_124632.jpg

 

 

Swimming across the bottomless pit that seperates zones is always scaring…Especially with the Inky Black Potion.

 

 

I also went all the way up north, where the ocean for some reason is very sickly looking. (And no, I did not pee in it as a protest of all these changes!)

WoWScrnShot_080217_125644.jpg

 

 

I did notice, that a swim around the entire continent seems quite doable, and off I went, until I reminded myself what I was doing :p

WoWScrnShot_080217_125931.jpg

WoWScrnShot_080217_125836.jpg

 

 

Back again…

WoWScrnShot_080217_125934

 

 

I was actually searching for quite a while for things involved in the Druid quest, called Trial of the Sealion;  You had you find a “claw” like rock very far out in the ocean, but it was no where to be found. This is all there was left, at the exact spot where it used to be.

WoWScrnShot_080217_130241

 

 

I tried to swim all the way through the long stream of water running down the entire zone, and that was easily manageable, except where the waterfalls are, as those actually are labelled “none ocean” where their “area” starts off.

WoWScrnShot_080217_130507.jpg

WoWScrnShot_080217_130814.jpg

 

 

I took a trip down to visit the Demon Hunter (which suddenly is very much “up to date” because of Legion, I guess)

WoWScrnShot_080217_130602.jpg

WoWScrnShot_080217_130704.jpg

 

 

I had to go up from the waters and check; and was happy to be reminded, that at least our Absentminded Prospector is still around.

WoWScrnShot_080217_131835.jpg

wowscrnshot_080217_131851-e1501693516842.jpgwowscrnshot_080217_131907-e1501693544212.jpgwowscrnshot_080217_131904.jpg

 

 

I also came across some vicious looking fish, the size of a grown Orca!

WoWScrnShot_080217_132011.jpg

WoWScrnShot_080217_132039.jpg
Waaa, it’s nomming on me!

 

 

The destruction at night…

Ok, who is with me, that is it; I am going to pay a certain someone a visit in Dragon Soul soon, me thinks!

WoWScrnShot_080217_132218.jpg

 

 

Despite this being an ocean tour, it is hard to swim around, and not take a look at one of the most memorable quests for me in the game, which is For Love Eternal…It might not be the same, but at least it is still around, if only changed; Cerellean is one of the survivors we are able to rescue and save, but he is still haunted by his Anaya’s spirit.

WoWScrnShot_080217_131456.jpg

 

 

A swim-by the new questing hub, Lor’danel…

wowscrnshot_080217_124733.jpg

Lor’danel[50.6, 18.6] is a seaside night elf settlement in northern Darkshore, founded after the destruction of Auberdine in the Cataclysm. It is built on a patch of land between two waterfalls. Water flows in from the sea into a whirlpool deeper inland, and the town is connected to the mainland by large and long wood bridges. Unlike the rest of Darkshore, the ground and trees here are vibrant green.

 

 

…I had a good time revisiting this zone, but I shall always miss how it once was. I did notice a glimmer of hope though; Where is Gubber Blump!? Remember? The dwarf that taught many of us how to fish, and when you finished the quest he gave, which involved catching 6 Darkshore Groupers, he would send you an in game mail with the following text:

“Hello there again. I’m Gubber Blump.

I hope you are doing real well. I hope you are still fishing too. I love fishing. The Blump family is known for fishing. Here is a bauble. So that you can fish a little better. I love using them when I fish. Good luck, and thank you again for helping me catch them groupers from before.

Keep on fishing!

Gubber Blump”

 

Gubber Blump is no where to be seen…So how awesome would it be if he was to return someday? Be sure to make an in game submit-suggestion-ticket for this! (Seriously)

 

Edit: I already made sure to contribute to the Q&A tomorrow with Ion Hazzikostas :p

Gubber Blump

 


 

 

…Ok. The rose-tinted goggles were strong in this one, I sense!

I guess that was hard to avoid. 🙂

But I end this post with one of my favorite screenshots of the trip, and that was taken at Lor’danel, which only exists after Cataclysm.

WoWScrnShot_080217_124828.jpg

 

So I hope that makes up for it a little, and that it was still enjoyable to join!

To you, Sir Gamrok, congratulations on winning my Bonus Objective Challenge, and thank you for participating 🙂

If anyone else wishes a tour to somewhere specific, or have a suggestion for an area, that might be worth (re-)visiting, I’d be very happy to hear 🙂

Happy evening everyone 🙂

21 thoughts on “A tour around the ocean of Darkshore

  1. Ooh, My reward has been delivered, yes! *sit comfortably*

    First, great idea to continue those exploration with the appropriate gear, nice for the immersion 😉

    You did the trip on your raft? I didn’t even know that it was possible… I’ll try it next time I go there.

    I believe that the quests with the boxes was called “Buzzbox xxx” (or smth like that).

    That screenshot when you enter the sea is amazing!

    I’m glad that the absent-minded prospector still exists, but I’m sad that we can’t do the “washed ashore” anymore… I love that chain.

    It’s a fantastic post you have made there, it brings back a ton of remembrances and, like you once told me, why don’t they put an NPC with an option to return us to the old zone, just like Blasted Lands… Auberdine is the place that is the most loaded with nostalgy for me (it’s also where I discovered that we could swim in WoW… I know, it was a long time ago) and I would love to run there once more.

    Thank you very much for this, Alu, it was amazing 😉

    Also, you make a fine impersonation of a murloc 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 So glad you enjoyed it!

      Yes those transmogs, awesome! I will continue to do that for sure, go go immersion 🙂

      Yep, that raft is entirely possible, just be sure to jump jump jump, so it goes faster. I forgot and almost hit fatigue. (Granted, I did not go in a straight line…)

      Oh yeah, Buzzbox something indeed 🙂

      Thank you so – the one where I walk towards the sea or?

      Aw yeah, me too. Oh notice how you called “Washed Ashore” a chain? 🙂 I always hoped that a new quest would appear if I managed to gather all those remains. We got told to fetch..3 was it? And then the rest was just “pickup-able” at their location?

      Thank you for saying that – and yes, gosh, an NPC to revert it all back would be so welcome. I really miss it. Also the old music. Gosh, it’s like nurture for my soul, whenever I have done Emerald Nightmare raid – that place where Xavius’ corpse is, the music there…Old Teldrassil music…Ahh…

      I did think so myself too! It was not easy to impersonate a murloc, I’ll have ya know! One “l” or “m” or “rgl” too much and it came out all wrong 😉

      Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I always remembered “washed ashore” as if it was a chain… weird.

        You are a very talented Murloc :-p That must be the power of the awesome fishing artifact, infusing you with its power 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, I think it was a chain, at least the first few bits of it 🙂

        Haha, hmm…So one gets buffed by things they keep in their bank…? /Blush. Tell you what. When I see Gubber Blump in game again, I’ll start doing something about it!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the awesome read, Alunaria 😊 And… fantastic screenshots as always!

    It’s nice to see that some of the “old” quests are still there. I was afraid that they would have disappeared when the dreaded Cataclysm happened.

    This post brings back so many memories… I’m itching to go on a little tour myself now and to try to get there on a raft… great idea you had there ^^

    Hahaha… Been to Dragon Soul already to kick that awful dragon for destroying our favourite city? If so, he had it coming 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for saying 🙂 Yes, even though the quests are changed, at least parts of them and some of the NPCs are still around.

      Oh, I hope you’ll have a wonderful tour! Yeah, that raft was kinda cool 😀

      Yus, multiple times, me thinks, Deathwing will have it coming! I mean, do you SEE Gubber Blump anywhere?! Still no? Ok, Deathwing here I come.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You are a fun story-teller!
    I miss that zone too. Running on foot up to level 40 meant that we got to know the zones tree by tree and rock by rock; meaning really well. Have you ever taken a jump into the whirl pool for the achievement? You can also get Falling Down and not die …

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😀 So glad you find it entertaining! I know; it really helped, being slowed down and running up and down that zone.

      I did, indeed, to visit that Demon Hunter, too 🙂

      Oh, didn’t know that Falling Down would be credited, cool!

      Thanks a bunch 🙂

      Like

  4. Fantastic travelogue as always, Alunaria 🙂
    I dislike (even hate) many of the post-Cata changes, but for some reason Darkshore is not one of them. I’ve done a lot of vanilla questing there on many chars. Old Darkshore I loved. The dead npcs are very saddening when I first saw them, I knew them by name, but the story made sense. The catastrophe hit and old friends were lost. In a way, one felt what many wow characters must have gone through in their storylines, pre and post-Cata. I think your reportage tells the story too.
    I had no idea you could take raft between Rutheran and Darkshore. I even did not know one can speed up the raft by jumping on it. But then, I only had it for a few years… Oh, these newfangled things!
    The orca-eating fish is scary! :O
    I wholeheartedly support the comeback of Gubber Blump. I might still have the fishing pole on some char…
    ps. would be a nice name for a dwarf guild!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Wisteria 🙂 I think it is very saddening too; but it sure makes an enormous impact and it is far easier to immerse and understand the impact that Deathwing had on the world then.

      Oh yes, for sure, that raft is very neat! I just discovered it yesterday; that you can make it go faster by jumping – because I read the tooltip :p

      Yes it is scary, that fish!

      Aww, sadly Ion did not respond to my question in the Q&A (Surpriiiiise!) but he is nowhere to be found, so I have faith…

      It totally would 🙂

      Like

    1. Nope, and WP does not like the ability to edit ones response either! I hear you, that would be a nice honor – maybe a bunch of restrictions could be added for joining such a guild…Such as, one can only level through fishing quests 😉

      Like

    1. Oh, I can easily understand what you mean, Erinys, thank you for taking the time to read my tour 🙂 As for killing Deathwing, I am afraid you will have to get in line! 😉

      Like

  5. Nice adventure, as always.

    I never saw the old Darkshore but I can say I like the current one in its own way.

    I remember exploring those sunken ships, they had made me feel like I am at that scene in “Inception” where there was no gravity.

    Have you checked beneath the “Maw of the Void”? Not the area where you met Telarius.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad you liked it, Eom, thank you so much for taking the time to appreciate it 🙂

      Oh, yes, that is true, the feeling when in the ships can seem similar to Inception. It’s been years since I watched that. Maybe it’s time for it again!

      Hmm, which place in specific do you mean, then, you mean when you swim down there yourself instead of being “helped along” with the cutscene or? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

