Two fantastic AddOns that boost immersion

 

By coinsidence, I just came across an AddOn, that I really cherish when I quest, and it is simply fantastic, I think. Chances are, if you like my site, then you might also like this AddOn, so here is a shout out for it – as well as for one other AddOn I started using lately. šŸ™‚

 


 

The one I did not know about before, is called Immersive.

It basically lets you hide everything on your screen, have it fade away, so you have less clutter, while still being able to perfectly fine use your spells (which are macroed, keybound and such – or you can choose to just have one action bar shown, too).

I adore it.

For a long time my Interface has looked fine and all, but I’ve been wanting less clutter for a while.

WoWScrnShot_042917_205225

 

 

 

But enter Immersive!

This is more or less how my screen would look normally with the standard UI.

WoWScrnShot_080717_122252.jpg

 

 

 

But with Immersive it looks like this. (I could really hide my raid frames too, but Immersive cannot do that, I have to do it manually, and forgot for this screenshot)

WoWScrnShot_080717_121857.jpg

 

 

What is so neat about this is, that there is a lot of options to customize it, and it’s all pretty straight forward. It works with the default Blizzard UI; Another thing I really like – because if there is one thing that can get me all fired up, its broken AddOns on patch day, especially Action Bars.

You notice I have chosen to hide almost everything when I quest, including the Minimap. It is so easy to just get tempted and look at that all the time when navigating around, but like this, I force myself to actually notice more of my surroundings which is awesome – instead of staring at the map for quest objectives.

This might also explain to those I quest with, why I often wander about and seem somewhat “lost” lately :p I literally don’t always know where I am going.

Here you can see various options in the AddOn, when you want to hide what – its all very much down to what you want to hide; want it to appear in combat or be hidden all the time, etc.

Lots of options to chose from.

WoWScrnShot_080717_122106.jpg

 

 

What is very great about it too is, that you can chose to simply hide your interface but have it show, if you just hover over it.Ā  So it’s always at your disposal, if you suddenly find yourself needing something that is not keybound and such.

Here you can, as an example, see the Chat Window; I just hovered over it, and it appears – and I can click to open the whispers etc. I might have missed out on.

They show as a teeny tiny square in the bottom of the screen.

I have chat hidden too, so I wont get distracted – another explanation for why it might take me time to respond from time to time šŸ™‚

wowscrnshot_080717_122709.jpg

 

It’s just beyond great. šŸ™‚


 

 

The other AddOn I want to show, is for questing, and it’s simply called Immersion.

I used to quest using an AddOn called Storyline, which I really like too, but now I am giving Immersion a go. And so far it sure is growing on me.

It replaces the original questing interface with this.

WoWScrnShot_080717_121715.jpg

WoWScrnShot_080717_122829.jpg

WoWScrnShot_080717_124635.jpg

 

 

This AddOn is also great for finetuning it to your personal needs, and a video exists to show how it works here.

 

 

What I really like about it is, that it makes me feel as if I “interact” way more with the NPCs, than the standard question interface – and having just a little portion of the quest text at the time makes me slow down too. Which is quite handy, since I just begun questing in Pandaria, and they keep telling me to “slow down” anyway! (I never quested there before, so šŸ™‚ )

 


 

Extra – Since I did mention Storyline above:

If you like Immersion as a questing AddOn, but are looking for something that “takes up more room on your screen in a good way”, there is also one called Storyline, which is brilliant.

I have used that for a very long time too. Great video about it here:

 


 

 

On a totally random note; Did you know that those Darkmoon Faire…Things. Now I forgot their name…Dance Sticks!

You can buy them at the new concert! Anyway, did you know, that they work in all our forms? Including the Orca?!

An Orca on the dance floor (/water) having a blast, can you imagine?

 

 

Druids are just too awesome. As a Stag and Raven we hold it in our mouth instead.

 

 


 

Anyway…I hope you will enjoy these AddOns as much as I do, and wish you a great day, thank you so much for visiting šŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “Two fantastic AddOns that boost immersion

  1. A guildie uses immersion and he loves it. I played on his computer to try it out a bit, and it took me a while to figure out how to complete a quest LOL!

    Immersive looks really cool! I’m not sure if I’d try it, but I’m glad you like it so much. I’ll definitely think about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I can understand that – it can take a while to get used to totally new AddOns too!

      It’s nice for me and the way I play at least, but I imagine as a serious raider, it might be less optimal. šŸ™‚

      Like

    1. No problem, thank you for stopping by, Kristen šŸ™‚

      I like the standard UI too, but Immersive works alongside it, and simply just hide what you want šŸ™‚

      Yes, Immersion I imagine, would be right up your alley, since you also like to take your time and quest – I hope you will enjoy it šŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Immersion looks amazing, I’ll give it a try šŸ˜‰ Thanks for the tip.

    I love those dance sticks, actually I love that entire concert! It’s so cool that you can use them shapeshifted… That happy Orca sure looks fancy šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! And no problem at all, I hope you’ll like it! šŸ™‚

      Hehe, me too, it is rather cool. I wish that the party crashing boss would not appear until after they had played at least a little bit, though.

      Happy Orca IS very fancy! šŸ˜€ Parties undersea ftw šŸ˜‰

      Liked by 2 people

      1. True, true, that boss crashes the party wayyyy too early…

        I wonder if the dance stick works when I’m shapeshifted in a shark with the fishing artifact… only one way to know šŸ˜‰

        Liked by 2 people

  3. First time hearing about Immersive, downloaded and will soon check it. Thanks!

    I currently use MoveAnything, Raven and Shadow Unit Frames and some custom addons I wrote for the most UI tasks. Right now, I have everything hidden except the chat frame, which I am working on. Looks I can use Immersive for that one.

    Immersion and Storyline look quite nice but I really prefer the default windows for quests and NPC dialogues. I can’t explain exactly why, but I just prefer it that way.

    I like how WoW has UI elements for everything, but I also don’t like how the UI can become your main focus and extract you out of the game world and make you live on a UI controlled simulator. Glad we have addon capability, so we can hide whatever we want.

    After about 3 years, I started adventuring without a minimap recently, which I would have never thought I could pay without. The more I played without the minimap, the less I felt I needed it and the more I felt immersed in the world. When there’s no minimap to look at, you look at your surrounding and try to figure out, try to find, try to locate. Is that not the core of an RPG? An adventure?

    And yes, never rush through questing in any place. To me, it is the most immersive part of the game, in addition to exploring.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very glad you like it, you are welcome, I hope it will help your immersion as well.

      Yes for sure, Immersive can help with the chat frame too.

      I’m with you there; I can easily end up spending more time on UI than the game world itself.

      Playing without a Minimap is awesome, I think! I can’t imagine going back now. šŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Great tips! First time I’ve heard about Immersion, will definitely have a look. I use ElvUI at the moment, and have tweaked it so the action bars and unit frames fade out whenever I’m out of combat.

    I also find that hiding player/NPC names helps immersion, although I sometimes forget to turn them back on during raids and BGs… Thank Elune for tab targeting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, that is very neat, didnt know ElvUI could do that šŸ™‚ Nice!

      Glad you found it helpful šŸ™‚ Yeah no doubt, I never have player or NPC names toggled on šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

