Why do you blog about WoW? – Z and Cinder’s Blog Challenge #23

zcbc_contributor_rectangle

 

Everyone who has created a blog has done so for a reason. For all of you WoW bloggers out there, what was that reason? Why did you choose to put fingers to keys to write about a computer game? What type of posts do you like to write? Does your blog have a theme to it, or do you just wing it and write whatever you want? We’d love to know!

 

 

Uh, big question, quite the challenge. Why do I blog about WoW…Let’s see.

I sense a wall of text incoming…You asked for it! 🙂

wowscrnshot_081117_194427.jpg

 

 

Right, so originally, my intention for this blog was mostly to share captivating screenshots paired with a few words. That has changed, a little, but I still spend a good chunk of time to find great angles, lights, I edit, and I try to come up with screenshots that are a little out of the ordinary.

Taking pictures in the real world is a very big hobby of mine; there is just something about the visual input, that I really like. And seeing it all come together in a post is great, too.

wowscrnshot_081117_194124.jpg

 

 

I really cherish, if a blog post of mine shows the reader something new. Or makes them rediscover a joy in game, they have forgotten. Or if it simply entertains and puts a smile on their face, and brightens their way in some way. Or if it remind them to “slow down” 😉

Many of my blog posts are most likely written with rosetinted goggles on, but it is hard to avoid, since Azeroth is a world I have enjoyed for over a decade, and some of my most fond memories are from the good ol’ days.

My content on my blog does not really follow a “routine” – sometimes I feel inspired to write a lot, other times not so much 🙂

I guess my favorite posts though, are my ocean ones. In the real world, I am drawn to it as well, especially Orcas (That do not live in captivity)

But I like variety, as well as to challenge myself, so the sky is the limit, when it comes to what I write about. Sometimes a short post about something turns out to take two hours over several days to write, such as it happened with my Torch Tossing story.

 

 

I often try to put a positive spin on things, if it fits, such as with the Archdruid Lunarwing Form.

 

Smile early, and often, right? 🙂

Smile

 

I also enjoy to go in depth with a specific area or encounter in game and notice every single detail about it, like I did with the Beautiful Beasts encounter in Karazhan.

Rose1

 

 

I like to offer a different view of the game in general, and inspire, so what would have been just an ordinary dash through Blackwing Lair suddenly changes into a night of adventure. (Thank you, Inky Black Potion)

WoWScrnShot_051617_200618

 

 

WoWScrnShot_081117_193922

 

 

Blogging about WoW also helps me remember what I do in game. I sometimes suffer from short term memory loss, so having things written down and “documentated” in a way, really helps. I also find it very beneficial, with my limited game time, to be able to go back and read my older posts, and re-discover the adventure I went on, especially those that are near and dear to my heart, that I spent a very long time on, such as my Orca Tour.

WoWScrnShot_052917_135913

 

 

Rarely have I written guides, but the comments I have gotten for the tips I shared on the Mage Tower Challenge has really meant a lot. It is so nice to know, that time spent on something can help someone else on their way to achieve their goal.

WoWScrnShot_043017_090609

 

 

Sometimes though, I have a need to voice my oppinion on various things, that just cannot be ignored, even though they are not all happy-rainbow-unicorny. That happened when I struggled with World quests, it happened with the recent appearance of Argus in the sky, not really in sync with the (lack of) storytelling in game lately.

It also happened when I discovered, that Blizzard eliminated the position of Russell Brower.

 

 

It goes without saying, that I also appreciate every comment I get along the way in general 🙂

I try to make the world a better place. And when I visit other blogs, I do so with all the dedication I can; I try to make sure I always appreciate the work gone into their post, I try to get to know them, and leave a comment or two – and that helps remind me, how to treat my visitors too. It is a joy how people from our Wow-blogging community find their way into my friend list in game, too 🙂

WoWScrnShot_081117_193944

 


 

 

I have grown to love the WoW-bloging community; it has such diversity. No matter which mood I am in, I always look forward to checking my WordPress Reader, in hopes that a fellow blogger has published something for me to enjoy.

WoWScrnShot_081117_194252

 

 

If I am in the mood for captivating stories I just head over to Wowstorylines,  The Dancing Hare as well as Alltherestwow, Jaeyn, Dreamberry’s Inn, and Jaellynn.

If I come across something in WoW that makes my mind wonder, I make sure to stop by Eom at WoW-stories, because chances are, he wrote about it and can provide me with the insight I want and more, as well as captivating stories to share.

WoWScrnShot_081117_193936

 

 

It it also great to get a little history of the other side of WoW, as I have never played Horde. Coupled with inspiring screenshots, it is a joy to visit Letoand Video Game Tourist.

It also makes me smile to watch friends join the community too, such as my faithful friend Mr Suj.

I always enjoy coming across blogs I have not seen before, that I find interesting.

Some appear inactive, but you never know, if they might return and find passion and inspiration for writing again, if you encourage them and take the time to leave them a word or two 🙂

A few of my latest discoveries include Jod’s Blog, You Yank It, You Tank It, Ikralla, Siccothermaplugg, Neondwarf, Kaylriene and Your Quest Log is Full.

WoWScrnShot_081117_194304

 

 

Then there are those sites, that combine it all, and offer a unique view into the game and the way they play it, such as Amerpriests Blog, Elfi’s World, Reputation Grind, Heals n Heels, Harpy’s Nest, Cinder says and Tome of the Ancient.

And let’s not forget NotAllHunters, Rokk TalkAnnInWonderland in Azeroth, Gnomecore and Bryssa – the latest also features a very unique story about all our favorite NPCs in game, and explores what happens, if they move into a house together; The Warcraft Big Brother series – be sure to check it out here!

For me, without time to raid anymore, it is great to visit those, that are more focused on raids, since it grants me some insight into how it is “up there” these days, so thank you to people such as Cinder says , Zeirah, CoffeeCakesandCrits and The Daily Frostwolf – the last three are even Restoration Druids like myself, so that’s such an extra bonus!

When a couple joins together and share a blog, a fantastic result can happen too, and if you are lucky, they might even throw in a Feathermane or two; So be sure to visit The Brutes  – And don’t miss the chance to see brave Gamrok live – And stay tuned for the next part of Sisqi’s Azeroth Safari!

Stop by Mr and Mrs WoW as well – and do not forget to check out the Community Project 2017; Couples Who Slay Together! – which I know Mrs. WoW spends very long on putting together (thank you from all of us)

WoWScrnShot_081117_193659

 

 

Meeting fellow WoW moms can be great as well; with the limited game time being a parent comes with, it’s just sometimes nice to speak with those in the “same boat”, especially when you have a common interest and hobby – So I am very glad that I have found MotherlyMage, as well as the aforementioned Mr and Mrs WoW, and Kamalia too – who I also go to for inspiration on transmogs, scenery and selections, she has it all!

WoWScrnShot_081117_193744

 

 

Then there are the sites, that might not be all that pleasing to the eye with a lot of screnshots visually, but they do wonders for me and opens up my sight on the entire WoW world.

They make me question things, think deeper about certain subjects, and provide insight into a lot of stuff, I normally don’t know much/think much about (One even offers me plenty of gifs – and who does not like those!)

This includes Marathal at Deez Wurds, Misdirections as well as Alternative Chat, and CoffeeCakesandCrits – the last also features a lot of inspiration to my Class as well as neat toy macros and ideas; they are all, without a doubt, worth to visit!

WoWScrnShot_081117_194525

 

 

It is also great to visit fellow Druid blogs, such as Zeirah, Falling Leaves and Wings, The Scruffy Druid, The Daily Frostwolf, as well as Syrco Owl and The Dreamgrove.

The Dreamgrove offers a very unique insight into how one can play without hands too, using voice recognition, and it is hosted by Phaelia, who used to have Resto4Life – a popular Druid blog years and years ago 🙂

Derpkitty is simply too adorable to leave out of this list, too.

Then there are a few blogs, that are not WordPress, but also plenty of useful things and entertainment to be found there; Perks N Peeves(all about pet battling), WowRareSpawns, Warcraft Less Traveled, Adventures In Skywall, Traveller of Azeroth(gifs, gifs, and more gifs) and World of Artcraft (even more gifs).

 


 

My list of blogs I visit on a weekly basis also include some, that are not all about wow, but still a great pleasure to visit, such as Ann In Wonderland (not in Azeroth), Gwendlyn D, Inscius, Regie’s Blog, Melbrankin, Strumpet’s Life, and My Kitchen in Holland.

 

Some of the inactive blogs I still want to include are Flask Half-Empty, Now I Am Tree, Pugnacious Priest, Wowsugar, Tastes Like Battle Chicken, The Big Bear ButtAmerpriestblog, BlogoftheTreant, Sprowt, Cynwise  ,Vault of Light, and Bodhi Rana.

Who knows – Maybe this pingback will inspire them to get back to writing 🙂 And reading them, despite being inactive, can still provide great insight as well as entertainment.

WoWScrnShot_081117_193705

 


 

 

Hm, I do not know how this blog challenge post evolved as it did, but I guess it became a small tribute to the entire WoW Blog Community we have, instead of just my reasons for blogging 🙂 It also took a week to write! Thank you for having the patience to read it all.

If I have forgotten someone, then gosh, I am so sorry, I really am; chances are, the sleepiness of me is kicking in, then please remind me and bear with me 🙂

WoWScrnShot_081117_194224

 

Sleep well, and a wonderful weekend to all of you 🙂

34 thoughts on “Why do you blog about WoW? – Z and Cinder’s Blog Challenge #23

    1. No problem 🙂

      Rather nice to have all those blogs in one post for me too; now I can just revisit that post and it will help remind me, where everyone is hanging out 😉

      Happy reading, and I hope you will enjoy them all!

      Like

    1. Thank you so – I cannot recall exactly either; but I remember the first post of yours, I ever read, was also about your little one as well – and we briefly talked about wonder weeks too. Nice 🙂

      Later on I found out, that many of the transmog pictures I had been looking during my Google Picture search, even before I had my own blog, was from your blog, hah 🙂
      Small world!

      Like

  1. Thanks for the shoutout! A lot of really great thoughts in this post, and it’s interesting to see your own analysis of how sometimes your motivation and the stuff you put out shifts over time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem at all, I am glad I came across your site too! Hard to stay spoiler free, though, lately, hah 😉

      Thank you very much for visiting and for saying that; it does give me something to think about, and it’s sometimes fun to re-visit older posts, and see how I would have written them differently today, heh 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing! I’m so glad you came to read our blog, meeting as amazing as you is part of the reason why Sisqi and I are blogging 😉

    Also, thanks for the kind things you said about us and for the great blog list you’ve shared *my new bookmarks* 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It totally IS the Druid’s Class Hall 🙂 I figured I would use that scene for this, since chances are, some might not have seen that place much. Just like I have not seen the Hunter’s Class Hall (hint, hint, post about it, post, post) 😉

      Haha, yeah, just add a comfy couch to that, and you got it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! Loved reading it 🙂

    Thank you for all the hard work you put in your blog and the blogging community. You are an inspiration to all!

    Also, thanks for the great list of blogs. Many of them I’ve never heard about… now I have some more discovering and reading up to do ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Sisqi – We inspire each other, right, bounce and bounce! 😉

      Great you find the list useful, it did take very long to put together (- and to track down all those blogs earlier on.) But worth it – I hope it will bring you lots of joy 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ooh there are quite a few blogs mentioned that I’ve never read. I’ll be swinging by as many as I can today to have a read.
    I absolutely love your blog and looking forward to finding more blogs to add to my list of good reads.
    Thank you for your awesome posts, keep them coming.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry, Zeirah, for some reason, your post got caught in my spam filter, so weird – Back on track now!

      Thank you for saying and for your sweet words, glad to hear you found it helpful too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 Thank you for taking the time to appreciate it! And for your site, which I very much enjoy.

      That’s a great idea, I now use that post too, as kind of an overview of all the blogs, heh. Some I read often, others on occasions, others are just inactive, but it’s nice to have it all in one place.

      Enjoy reading 🙂

      Like

  5. What a long and nice list of fellow WoW bloggers. Thank you for sharing, Alunaria. Didn’t know about many of them.

    Also thank you for the mention 🙂

    By the way, I see that Argus has come to your blog too… there’s no escape, eh?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heh yeah, that post also took me ages to put together, so I am glad if someone can benefit from it 🙂

      I hope you’ll find some blogs to your liking! I always appreciate your visits here, the door is open 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

