She came, she saw, she conquered. Brawler’s Guild as a Healer

 

Yep!

 

It appears as if <Alunaria the Humble> is on a break today, and <Brawler Alunaria the Bragger> has taken her place.

Sorry about that.

Things will return to normal tomorrow!

 
Because she came…

WoWScrnShot_081217_202903

 

 

She saw…

wowscrnshot_081217_203626.jpg

 

 

And she conquered!

Rank 8 in Brawler’s Guild!

wowscrnshot_081217_203708.jpg

 

wowscrnshot_081217_201411.jpg
This should really be named Queen of the Guild…

 

wowscrnshot_081217_203342-e1502729631196.jpg

 

This was no minor task, though. And the reason for making this post is, that I insisted to do it a little different than most, I guess.

 

As a Healer.

 

They said it was not possible.

“Brawler’s Guild is not a suitable match for Healers (or Tanks)!” , they said.

Hm, I thought. Those who know me a little, also know, that if there is one thing, I cannot stay away from, it’s a solo challenge.

To the point where, sometimes, I feel as if I am being held captive, by a boss called

The Stubborness of Alunaria.

 

Proving Grounds, Mage Tower Challenge, The Deaths of Chromie, scenarios; I practically live inside those, till I manage them.

Brawler’s Guild was actually something, I have never ever done in game though, because it was labelled as being for DPS only, but during my

“I will not go outside Azeroth and see Argus in the sky, until I have taken down Kil’Jaeden so it makes sense!”

strike, I went to Brawler’s Guild, to try it out. Since it was inside, hah, so no Argus in the sky there. Just to see how far I could get.

 

But since I really just wanted to use my main spec; Restoration (and my artifact weapon in all my other specs are…Actually, let’s not even go there, it’s embarrasing), it quickly proved quite challenging; most of all because of the beserk/enrage timer…

WoWScrnShot_081217_212819

 

 

Slowly, however, I moved up the ladder…

WoWScrnShot_081217_203005

 

 

I honestly did not expect to make it all the way to the end, though.

WoWScrnShot_081217_201602

WoWScrnShot_081217_203436

wowscrnshot_081217_202311.jpg

 

 

As for tips, I just have a few simple ones; Maximize. All consumables possible, rune, flask, drums, food, you name it. And you can buy Prolonged potions, that can be used during the brawls, for very little gold in there. And one can use two for every fight, if you just pre-pot, just like normal encounters.

Spec around, to get some kind of interrupt, if you can. I couldn’t, since I have no interrupt as a Restoration Druid (some are immune to knockback effects too, so that wont work), and that really made some fights a lot more difficult.

WoWScrnShot_081217_203138

 

 

I began to struggle during the bosses in rank 8; I just could not beat them within the needed time. But with maximizing all I had, including spell rotation (sometimes I really slack too much, I guess), it was possible as a Restoration Druid (with Feral Affinity).

I managed to hit 546k DPS on the final boss.

The almost-final boss though, really was difficult due to requiring interrupts (paired with a lot of movement to dodge damage, too), which I do not have in my spec. Stun did not work either, and the CD of it is too long as well, so it ended up requiring close to 600k DPS, which by far is my personal best in Legion.

My item level is 907. I chose Feral Affinity, because I’m just the most comfortable with that. Some fights are easier for ranged though, so I bet Balance would be great too, if that’s your thing.

wowscrnshot_081217_2007321.jpg

 

 

I didnt look into it, but there are probably some neat DPS trinkets one could bring, that would help out a lot? Anyone?

 

I plan to go back, so any tips on that would be really welcome πŸ™‚

 

I originally did it to be able to get the shirt (reward from it), but I later found out, that is no longer obtainable in this “season”. Shoot 😦

Though some comments on WoWhead say, that it is, during a random Brawl mode, which I have not looked into yet – I am not even sure what that is…

 


 

Even though the fights might not be your thing, I recommend checking it out; the whole room and such is quite fun, there is even a VIP lounge for those at rank 8 (but you are able to enter the area, if someone else grants you access with this something-something item…I don’t have all the details!)

The NPCs appear as if they are placing bets on you and what not as well, but I won’t spoil too much here, so go check it out πŸ™‚

There is a lot more to the Brawlers Guild, than I tell here.

WoWScrnShot_081217_202440.jpg

 


 

Brawler’s Guild is a place, under the Deeprun Tram in Stormwind, where one can tests their skills; not only their raw dps, but also their movement, execution of strategy, and figuring out the encounter in general. I stayed spoiler free, and just went in blindfolded, without knowing what to do. I just really like learning by doing, instead of reading guides beforehand.

Brawler’s Guild was closed down during the start of Legion, and relaunched, with a almost new set of bosses to fight, as far as I understand?

You get thrown into a “pit”/battle arena, where it is just you vs. the boss that spawn; each rank has 4 different ones.

And you can thenΒ  rise in ranks, all the way to 8.

Along the way you can purchase various things, such as a mount, two pets, a ring that lets you teleport to the Brawlers Guild, and an heirloom one-hand fist weapon.

You will also get a titel called “Brawler”.

The vendor that sells these is here– though not fully updated for Legion. (Come on, Wowhead, seriously…)

 

Great guide here, if one is into those kind of things.

 


 

Happy fighting in there, and do enjoy!

I really hope you find this encouraging; it is nice to know, that Brawler’s Guild is not off limits for us Healers. (I’m looking at you, Withered Army Training..!)

I really thought it was off limits. But if I can do it, so can you πŸ™‚

28 thoughts on “She came, she saw, she conquered. Brawler’s Guild as a Healer

  1. Amazing! Congratulations. I honestly had no idea that it would be madeable as a healer… This surely is a feature of strenght. You can be a proud kitty πŸ˜‰

    I also enjoy the brawler’s guild, I was rank 8 in season 1, and I regret not to have participated in season 2, I would have loved to have that shirt… I freshly got to level 6 in season 3 and won’t give up until I ride that Basilisk πŸ˜‰

    Again: congratulations, your majesty of the guild πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so πŸ™‚ Me neither. You know what, today I AM a very proud kitty!

      That’s so cool, nicely done! I’m curious how it was like back then; which changes the Brawler’s Guild has been through since it first started.

      I have read that some of the shirts can drop from…something…in there…Maybe.

      Haha, why, thank you /royal wave πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yes, excellent news, it is still obtainable through the completion of the achievement “deck your collection (season 2)”.

        Well, apart from the talents that have changed for each class, the guild feels pretty much the same as today.

        /bow in presence of royalty πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      2. We’re in season 3 but it’s apparently possible to still complete the achievement of the season 2… I have bookmarked a post in wowhead, I’ll link it when I’m back this evening πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome post, Alunaria. Congratulations on this rather hard achievement. I, honestly, didn’t know that it was possible for a healer. I always thought that it required dps or tank specs.

    I’m quite impressed and you’ve motivated me to go back there and make it to rank 8 πŸ™‚

    Thanks for sharing your experience and for proving that whatever seems impossible is possible after all!

    Great job πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a bunch πŸ™‚ Yes, that is what I had read too!

      I have? That is just awesome to hear, I am so glad πŸ™‚ Have fun in there! Wish I could watch and cheer you on in game.

      Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Grats, it’s always much more fun doing things differently isn’t it. I did it on a Mistweaver Monk when the Brawler’s Guild first came out but then of course they changed Mistweavers so much, I’m not sure she would have the punch now. Was planning on having a go on my Warlock but you’ve inspired me to see if my Holy Priest can smite her way through.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much – Yes, it really is fun. πŸ™‚

      That is so cool, nicely done! I have little insight into other classes, but I have read that about Mistweaver Monks – they recieved a huge overhaul.

      How great to hear! I hope you’ll have a fantastic time with your Priest πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. N’awww, a very special Druid visit, thank you for stopping by πŸ™‚

      Hah, that is not cheating; to do it with a Warlock, is it?

      Oh, I hope it will be fun for you! Feral does seem like an awesome spec, though overly complex, rotation wise, isn’t that so? At least for me…

      Spot on – Go Druids! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats!
    I did Season 2 of Brawler’s guild and I still remember having a very hard time on the last boss. I stayed up until 2am trying it, but couldn’t beat him. I went to bed, but had to get up again, because I was to angry to sleep and didn’t want to admit defeat. It was around 4am when I finally beat him.
    Haven’t tried Brawler’s guild in Legion, I probably should soon πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot, Leto πŸ™‚

      Haha, what a great story. I admire your stubborness; it reminds me of my own. I stayed up till 3 AM in Proving Grounds once (and I have to get up at 5 AM everyday)
      I have no regrets :p

      Oh yeah? I hope you’ll have fun! As far as I can read, the encounters has changed, so you are in for a treat πŸ™‚ All new stuff.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Alright, i’ll try it, thanks for the encouragement, if you could do it on healer then there is no excuse for my hunter, i have tank pets πŸ˜€

    The Brawler guild makes me wish to see more solo challenges, Chromie quests are fun to do, also artifact ones, i’m hoping Blizzard will add more in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. πŸ™‚ So happy to hear you have been encouraged \o/ I wish you and your tank pets a lot of fun.

      I know, me too! More solo challenges, please.

      Though, one thing I want to add; I wish they would scale with gear. So no matter how high item level you carry around, the challenge remains the same.

      When the Mage Tower Challenge was released, I was really discouraged, since it first was meant to be for those decked out in Mythic gear, was it 910+ they recommended.

      I banged my head against the wall (I’m a very casual player, so at best, I have LFR gear) but in the end, managed it without the recommended item level, but it would have been nice, if it would just be the same challenge for everyone, no matter which gear they wear.

      Like

  6. Awesome job! I’ve never dared to do Brawler’s Guild (or Withered Training) as a tank or healer – always DPS, and that makes it easier in some ways and harder in others!

    I really hope at some point we get a fun challenge-thing like Brawler’s Guild that can be spectated on, but that tests specs and roles out equally. Maybe it would be a bit of a labor to build, but I’d hang out there and see how people do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Oh, it is actually a lot of fun; somewhat of a different kind of challenge, too!

      Oh, that would be very neat. I guess coming up with a challenge that is equal for all specs and roles is impossible for any game designer.

      It is quite cool to watch others fight in Brawler’s Guild, especially if they are on the same stage as you are πŸ™‚ I learned a lot from that.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Amazing accomplishment!
    Congratulations to achievement. Do you get that cool basislisk mount this season?

    “But if I can do it, so can you”
    Well… not me. I can brawl, a little bit…

    Alunaria rocks!
    Furthermore…
    Alunaria rocks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you lots πŸ™‚

      Yes, it appears so, it is just a little different than the other seasons, as far as I understand.

      N’awww. thank you so much for cheering me on πŸ™‚ β™₯

      Like

Leave a Reply

