An hour in the company of a musical genius: Gamescom Video Games Live Concert 2017

 

Out of everything at Gamescom this year, this was the one thing, I would have loved to see the most; this amazing live-streamed concert conducted by Russell Brower.

I tried to move mountains in order to be there in person, yet sadly it was not possible.

I was fortunate enough to be able to watch it from home at least.

 

Russell himself wrote the following on his Facebook page:

 

The #GamesCom edition of the #Blizzard-branded #VideoGamesLive concert, conducted by yours truly, will be streamed live from Cologne at 6pm local time, which is 9am PST Thursday morning in California. If that’s too early, it will be continually available “on demand” shortly after. 🙂

The one-hour concert, which features several World Premieres, including me and Derek Duke’s “Canticle of Sacrifice” from WoW, sung in-person by Nella, can be found on Twitch TV, YouTube, Facebook and the GamesCom Blizzard website both live and later on-demand.

We’re also performing music by Sam Cardon, Neal Acree, Glenn Stafford, Jason Hayes and Peter McConnell, to name a few, covering all of the Blizzard franchises.

(Please note: If I appear a bit haggard, it’s because the airline lost my luggage and my hotel borked my reservation– I’ve been therefore without sleep or fresh clothes or a razor–! Thankfully, my dear friends/hosts at Blizzard EU brought me fresh shirts to wear onstage. Even they can’t help the dark circles under my eyes, though! And I’ll likely have to use a pencil for a baton 🙂

It’s been an honor and a privilege to be a part of Blizzard’s musical legacy, and I hope this show brings back great memories for all.

Thanks for all your support and I sincerely hope you enjoy the music!!

Please share this with anyone who loves Blizzard games and soundtracks. 🙂

Russell

http://gamescom.blizzard.com/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ngAl3IqnMjc

https://www.twitch.tv/blizzard

We’re doing an encore performance Friday, as well.

 

 

It was really nice to get a little story about how, for example, the last song was made, what inspired it and so 🙂

To go on stage, and do that…So very inspiring. And even considering the airline lost his luggage and the hotel borked his reservation. I saw no dark circles under his eyes; I only saw a genius at work.

In case you missed it, treat yourself to an hour of this beyond amazing music, made with such talent, passion and dedication.

 

 

 

Happy evening and weekend everyone 🙂

 

PS. Do not forget to share your best screenshot of Argus 🙂

WoWScrnShot_081417_123047

14 thoughts on “An hour in the company of a musical genius: Gamescom Video Games Live Concert 2017

    1. Hey Velgana, thank you so much for stopping by 🙂 Wow, they don’t have that at Blizzcon? That’s so strange! Music is such a huge part of the game, surely it deserves a lot of love, especially at Blizzcon!

      Like

  1. I actually sat here and watched the whole concert that you linked. So much wonderful music and so many memories that go along with it. Actually had a few teary-eyed moments, however, they were truly happy tears that I got to see the concert, even if I was late about reading the blog. 🙂 Thank you for sharing all of this wonderful stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow. I am so glad to hear that. No one should miss out on this amazing concert, it is so inspiring, I think.

      I felt that way too, it was very moving, with the pictures and live music all coming together.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG! Thank you for sharing the link of this post with me, it gave me goosebumps, I’m shivering with excitement! He’s such a genius! Yeah, no dark circles or bags under his eyes, just… I lack the words. I worship this man, he should do every single soundtrack and every single song and everything music related ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m very glad you liked it; I figured, with your joy for the music in game, this must be right up your alley 🙂

      No one should miss out on that.

      It was one of those times, where I really appreciated being able to watch that on our TV, instead of just a computer screen. So moving.

      I just wrote it to you elsewhere, but sadly Russell Brower no longer works at Blizzard (their decision, not his). Would you believe that, after over 10 years? I have to be careful, not to get all worked up over that again…

      You can read more about it here – which has a few links to his Facebook and Twitter profile too; I bet he would appreciate your gratitude as well:

      https://alunaria.wordpress.com/2017/07/24/a-tribute-to-russell-brower-over-a-decade-of-gratitude/

      Like

Leave a Reply

