The things in between: Eastern Kingdoms – Part 1 out of 4

For quite some time I have been wanting to make a piece on this.

A piece on how all the zones look from above, but more specifically; how they look next to each other, together.

I’m not sure why – maybe it is the nostalgy in me, maybe it’s seeing how the areas have changed since 10 years ago, or maybe it’s just watching them from above, something that was not possible back, when it all began.

Originally what inspired me to do this tour was the look of three zones, next to each other, having both snow, desert and lush forests.  Within one screenshot, so many of the elements.

I shall begin with about 1/4 of Eastern Kingdom, because this is where I got inspired to start. The world of Azeroth is enormous, and it takes quite a while for such a post to come together; I’m depending on different kinds of daylight, and the editing and what not, yeah, it has been in the making for a few days – So best split it up a bit!

 

Maybe it’s me, but there is just something about the view, that moves me, so here goes 🙂

 


 

 

Blasted Lands, Stranglethorn Vale and Deadwind Pass

WoWScrnShot_091717_104001.jpg

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Stranglethorn Vale, Duskwood and Westfall

WoWScrnShot_091617_202038

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

Westfall and Stormwind. Peaceful to see Stormwind all the way from the shore in Westfall.

WoWScrnShot_091717_104552

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

Redridge Mountains, Elwynn Forest and Burning Steppes

WoWScrnShot_091717_104855

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

Blasted Lands, Swamp of Sorrows and Deadwind Pass. See, here, the contrast between the 3 zones are very noticeable. Gorgeous.

WoWScrnShot_091717_102428

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

I had to include Redridge Mountains and Swamp of Sorrows together, because, I honestly had no idea there was a road from Bogpaddle leading all the way through Redridge Mountains and to Burning Steppes! Has it always been there..?

When I explore, I usually do it on the ground, so it was a little unexpected new adventure 🙂 (I’m such a hardcore vanilla fan, that the revamp to all the zones in Cataclysm caused me to go on strike for a while :p I think I will have to do all the quests in all the zones sometime again now!)

WoWScrnShot_091717_102635

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Most of the time, 3 zones line up together, and in between are mountains, walls, or something else, that you cannot reach on foot – and that prevents you from just stepping from one zone to another.

And once you get flying, more often than not, you fly from A to B.

So these places in between are so unexplored.

Sadly there are not many hidden ‘gems’, that I know of, but there are some beautiful spots, that would be so fitting for, for example, roleplay, since they are so deserted.

 

I do encourage you to swing by Elwynn Forest and behind Northshire Valley though, in case you have never been 🙂

I will not spoil too much here, there are just a few things you must see and an NPC or two to speak with 😉 And some paws to admire too.

WoWScrnShot_091717_101647.jpg

 


 

I wish all of you wonderful people a great Sunday 🙂

17 thoughts on “The things in between: Eastern Kingdoms – Part 1 out of 4

  1. Beautiful screenshots, awesome idea.

    I dont think so much about the old zones anymore, like you wrote i normaly just fly to point A to B. But Will start to look around more where im flying and how everything have changed the last years:)

    Thank you for reminding me to slow down and check places:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a marvellous and very original idea. Sometimes when flying one notices the abrupt borders betweens zones (even back in vanilla). Not surprising, as the old continents have zones of wildly different levels next to each other. But showing it this systematically from places one usually do not visit, is just very new. I have not seen such exploration before. Even if you did not find much new places, the vantage points are new. At least to me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the appreciation, happy to hear you like the idea 🙂

      Yes, there is just something about it, I think. I really look forward to do the rest too.

      So glad it makes you rediscover things, thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely views! I look forward to the rest of the series!

    The moountain path to Swamp of Sorrows from Redridge was added in Cataclysm. It’s a great thing to not have to run *through* those high level ash zones to get down south!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Kamalia, so happy to see you back! I hope the workload is over for you soon 🙂

      Thank you very much, I really look forward to do the rest as well.

      Ohh, I see, about that path, I didn’t know. Hah, yes, that is a very nice thing then!

      Like

    1. Oh, thank you very much, you go do that! I hope you will enjoy what you find 🙂 Just a sweet little spot one rarely sees.

      Oh, thanks a lot for the comment on the transmog, it took a while to put it together, simple as it may be.

      But I really like it too, so druidic and there is no doubt which class I play when I pass you by 🙂

      Like

  4. There is a female goblin in Burning Steppes, with a mount rocket, usually when a player done with the Steppes he/she gets a quest to go to the swamp, so this cranky rude goblin offer a ride to Bogpaddle, long ride.

    These area between zones are interesting, so many details hidden there, sometimes NPCs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohh, I had no idea. Thank you for that insight! How neat 🙂

      I think so too, I like how there can be NPCs and caves and what not there. I miss that on Argus for example. Tables, chairs…Where do these Demons sit, really!?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

