If you could visit one place on Azeroth…Where would it be? (Also, ding!)

 

I am finally home safe and sound and able to enjoy the world of Azeroth again, as well as all the wonderful blogs out there, without getting lost in where I commented, on what, and when. (What is up with the lack of notifications, when one uses the WordPress App?!) I’m sorry if I missed something.

 

Anyway.

But today it’s my birthday too (ding!), so what little time I chose to spend in Azeroth made me think of it differently.

 

If I had to chose one place I wanted to visit today and just sit in peace, where would it be?

 

Such a place can change from day to day, depending on the mood I am in.

A place where I could be surrounded by orcas is probably not a surprise to anyone – those, who follow regularly, know, I have a fondness for the ocean and orcas in particular. (Do you adore orcas too? Then you might like the Orca Tour I did a while back 🙂 )

https://alunaria.files.wordpress.com/2017/05/wowscrnshot_052917_192655.jpg?w=1833&h=971

 

 

 

Or, Moonglade.

WoWScrnShot_082917_102511.jpg

 

 

 

But when I logged in, I found myself in Darnassus – I went there, before I logged out the last time, to purchase a few mounts (Gilnean Horses) I didn’t have. I know; as a gatherer, I’m not doing it right…

 

But the place I chose to spend my 10 minutes of game time of serenity this morning was…

 

 

The Howling Oak

 

“Following the cataclysm and the Gilneans abandoning their homeland, the Howling Oak was grown by a group of Night elf druids who had took a seed before leaving Gilneas. The tree stands for all the Gilneans that have settled in Darnassus while those settled elsewhere in territories that belonged to the Alliance, and all that their people accomplished.”

wowscrnshot_100117_211734.jpg

 

 

There is just something about the water surrounding it, that makes it seem like such a sanctuary.

And it’s in the middle of my favorite city, Darnassus.

And the story behind it is so captivating too, I think – and a great example of how integrating something new in the game can be done so well.

I have yet to play a Worgen through the starting area, but I want to, to experience it all.

And it has Druid Trainers…

WoWScrnShot_100117_212849

 

 

 

The Howling Oak was also, where I did a lot of roleplay back on the server Argent Dawn some years ago, and I remember it fondly.

WoWScrnShot_100117_212550.jpg

 

 

 

I adore the water effect in the area. It’s similar to the waters in Hyjal too.

I tried to capture it on a few screenshots. It became a lot easier using the Inky Black Potion (oddly enough the Storming Saison just made the sky black today, no storm or clouds. Must be a bug.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

Argus, ‘dear’ Argus. I am sorry, but sometimes, you are just in the way!

WoWScrnShot_100117_212130.jpg

 

 

 

Even in the water here, Argus is very clear.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

That log from Highmountain is just perfect for this place 🙂

WoWScrnShot_100117_213102.jpg

 

 

 

I really adore the candles at the Howling Oak too. Stunning at nighttime.

WoWScrnShot_100117_212649.jpg

 

 

 

A few more of the environment.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

wowscrnshot_100117_212729.jpg

 

 

 

Happy orca is happy. And a shot from underwater and up 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

That was all from me. Gorgeous place. 🙂

And the music and ambience sound fits so well. Worth a visit and a pause from the daily battles on the Broken Isles and Argus for sure.

 

 


 

 

But, how about you, which place would you visit, if you could somehow transfer it from WoW to real life – and why?

 

Or, if the world of Azeroth suddenly would change forever (Don’t get any ideas now, Blizzard…), where is the one place you would go to, to see it one last time?

 

Is the answer to those two questions the same?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 


 

 

As for achievements today, I try to look at my birthday as levelling up instead of ‘just’ getting older.

 

 

So ding! Ready to pwn lower level Dungeons, that used to be a challenge, and ready to travel at greater speed, be more experienced, and take on tougher encounters, and be successful.

 

Music plays.jpg

 

 


 

 

Right, I am off to celebrate with the family, so happy monday everyone – I hope to see you share a little of the place on Azeroth you would choose to visit, a screenshot is very welcome too 🙂

29 thoughts on “If you could visit one place on Azeroth…Where would it be? (Also, ding!)

  1. Happy birthday 🙂 A ding, indeed – that’s my thought too. I’m in my mid 30s, and I never want to go back to 20s or teens. My life gets an upgrade every year, all the IRL achievements, and I’m not ready to put them away.

    I’m a city person, so I would definitely walk the streets and see all Stormwind – but in daytime, as a big city most probably has some criminal activity in the night 🙂 Then I would take a tram to Ironforge (and leave it immediately, because heat!) for Kharanos village where I want to drink with dwarves and gnomes and see the depot of mechanostriders.

    My favorite place in Azeroth is gone with Cataclysm: Deathwing ruined the dam and thus the majestic lake in Loch Modan. Actually I returned to WoW after a big break with a purpose to punish him for that 🙂 Anyways, Telsamar was a place where I would retire (hope they would fix the dam by the moment). The other option is Theramore – also destroyed.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much 🙂 I can relate to that!

      Oh yes, seeing a city like Stormwind come to life…Wow. I was looking so much forward to see it in the World of Warcraft movie, but I do not think it did it justice well.

      I never actually thought about Ironforge and the heat there, thank you for helping my immersion along!

      Kharanos hold great memories for me too, I understand.

      That dam in Loch Modan and your quest for revenge taking down Deathwing for ruining that…I agree 100%. So many places that I miss today.

      It would truely be great to see them rebuild some of the stuff that got broken years and years ago by now. I guess a revamp in questing would be needed too, then, so it might be very unlikely.

      Theramore…I seem to have read that one can speak to an NPC and see it before that? Or maybe I am misunderstanding something. I know you can do it in the Badlands, right?

      Thank you for sharing the places you’d want to see! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy birthday! 😀

    As far as my Warcraft vacation goes… it was really difficult to decide. I looked at all the different zones and came down to 17 nominees. I had to whittle those down to 4 finalists, which included Eversong Woods, Frostfire Ridge, Suramar City and Val’Sharah. I eventually went for Frostfire Ridge, simply because my new xmog is snowy themed :P. Plus, I really like snowy areas anyway. Think there’s only Dun’Morogh and Winterspring besides Frostfire that are snowy. I wish I could quest in Frostfire, but I’ve never raised a horde character to a high enough level.

    Here’s some shots I took while I was there. Didn’t really go exploring, just went into the middle with the big open spaces.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much 🙂

      How cool you came up with nominees and all, thank you for the effort!

      Haha, well Frostfire Ridge, that is really neat; I bet not many have that on the list.

      That transmog is fantastic, I just broke my “One visit to Twitter a week” schedule to see it, and it was worth it! Nicely put together 🙂

      Snowy areas are very appealing to me too; I really like how the air is in those places as well, and the ambient sound.

      I have just started questing in MoP and made it to Kunlai Summit, some quest line that takes you far up on the mountain there, and its snowing heavily while being very windy too. Amazing.

      Thank you very much for sharing 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh Happy Birthday, hope you have a great day!
    Your post certainly cheered my day, as I’m tired and grumpy but being distracted by thinking about all the serene plays I love to visit in wow.
    I remember when they broke and changed the lands; the night before it was due I went to visit all the places I loved to sit in case things changed too much. Although for me it depends on the time/day.u

    Sunrise from a mountain in the Barrens
    Afternoon in Jade Forest in one of the high towers: I love the little touches of teacups and games – I also only destroyed the Dragon building here on one character so I like to have that in view.
    Sunset in Westfall
    And it was moonlight beach walks in Auberdine but it’s a little sad broken up *sniffs

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much!

      Gosh, that comment means a lot to me, knowing it brightened up your day. I hope, whatever brought you down, has faded away, and you have a better day today 🙂

      Aww, how nice, that you went to all those places before the lands changed. I understand completely.

      I can relate to all the places you list. The sky in Westfall is amazing with the sunset. And that Moonlight in Auberdine. I seem to recall a place in Ashenvale, near the beach, where it was also really stunning.

      Sometimes I wish one would be able to just speak with an NPC and have the world change back to before Cataclysm, but also before other aspects of the questing experience, like in Jade Forest.

      Thank you so much for sharing your favorite spots 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Happy Birthday! 😀
    I can’t think of any smaller spot right now. So my choice is Darnassus as a place I would love to visit and live in. The first town I ever saw in wow, and still my favorite.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much 🙂

      Yes, I really like that too! So simply and peaceful in a way, those horses. I would love to see more options for our /mount specials.

      Oh yeah, Dalaran, new or old version? Or old old version, hah? 😉

      Like

  5. Happy birthday!
    Amazing screenshots, as always 😀
    The worgen starting experience is awesome, do try it when you have the time ^^
    I’m gonna have to think about those questions and get back to you later (very tough questions, I want to put a lot of thinking into them)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much 🙂

      I’m really happy you like them! Always trying to find screenshots that are making the post become more alive 🙂

      Yes, I will, for sure. I like the accent too, so much.

      Oh, I understand 🙂 I will look forward to your response! As I wrote; for me, the places I want to go to can change day by day, so 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much 🙂

      That is a very sweet comment to make, and something I really like too, when visiting other blogs; it’s like passion and immersion can rub off 🙂

      Like

  6. Happy Birthday!
    Hm, my favorite place, hm, a good question. I have many places I like. Eversong Woods are so pretty, gold and red everywhere, but I also love Mulgore’s wide and open grasslands. I like Dun Morogh, snow everywhere with Iron Forge in the distance. The jungles of Stranglethorn and Sholozar Basin. And let’s not forget the Jade Forest and the Valley of the 4 winds. So many wonderful places in Azeroth, I’m having a hard time picking my favorite 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much, Leto 🙂

      I understand the hard time you have picking your favorite, those are all amazing spots, and each different; so depending on the mood one is in, I bet it can change, where you want to go 🙂

      Oh, yes, Sholozar Basin! That place is gorgeous too. Thank you for bringing a little WotlK zones to the table and for your comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Happy birthday! Hope you have a great day.
    Mine is the ruins of gilneas. I love wandering the hills and poking into all the little houses and pretending Greymane Manor is mine.
    Def make time to see the worgan starting zone. I dont plasy worgens but I’ve levelled so msny just to play through the zone over and over.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, Zeirah 🙂

      Oh, yes, I understand. Up until recently I actually had no idea, that one could visit the starting area of Worgens and just fly around, exploring it. It was such a pleasant surprise. Gorgeous houses too, for sure.

      I will, and look forward to it as well – Thank you a bunch for sharing your favorite spot. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I may be a bit late but… Happy Birthday!!! I hope you had an amazing day full of happy things and surrounded by the people you love the most! 😀

    I loved your post, your screenshots are so beautiful that I fell in love with the place even more! You should do the Worgen area and the quests, I think you would have a more real experience about their story and how the Howling Oak came to be their new home! I actually think it represents them so well!

    Hum, that is a very though question you ask, there are so many places I would like to visit! I’ll have to get back to you on that, I’ll probably even make a post about it!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Never late 🙂 Thank you so much, I sure did 🙂

      Oh, that is wonderful to hear, Princess of the Mists, so glad you take the time to let me know.

      I will, I look forward to do it too!

      And I’ll look forward to such a post then, as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I forgot all about how the Howling Oak was a part of Darnassus. That’s neat they put aside a place for the worgen. I went for a visit after reading your post and was perplexed by how different it looked from your screenshots, so I went to the AH and picked up some [Inky Blackness Potion]s.

    I’ve heard you talk about them before, but I’d never seen it in-game myself. It made everything look so cool! Darnassus feels so cozy with its lanterns and lit interiors. And it makes the Howling Oak itself look way more mysterious/interesting. I should use that potion more often.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for such a considerate comment; it’s really nice to know, that I help you see and notice parts of Azeroth you might not have noticed that much 🙂

      Oh, I sure hope the potions on AH didn’t cost you too much. Darkmoon Faire is still around, so be sure to stop by and stock up on the potion 🙂 The vendor can be found in the woods and is called Rona Greenteeth,

      I know, the cities are so amazing with this potion. I hope you will find time to see a place such as Stormwind with it too, and Duskwood becomes even darker than it already is. Lots of immersion opportunities 🙂

      Depending on your class and ability to wield an off-hand, you could pick up a lantern yourself to walk on the strees of Darnassus 🙂

      Lots of lanterns in game to choose from:

      http://www.wowhead.com/search?q=lantern

      I always have a stack of the potion on me, so wherever I go, I just be sure to use it, before I leave the place again, to see how it looks at night 🙂

      Thank you for your thoughtful comment!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Ah, thanks for the tip on where to find the potion. The potions were pretty cheap on the AH, surprised I was able to find some at all. Also, I just happened to have kept a grey quality lantern (think it’s [Felwrought Lantern] or something close to that] from an Argus chest, and I put it to some use.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ooh, thank you so much for sharing! Those were gorgeous – I really like the light effects during the dark, great spots you picked to show it off 🙂

        Wow, the forest area at Darkmoon Faire sure looks gloomy this way. Stunning fireworks too 🙂

        Try taking a stroll with the lantern in Duskwood… 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Belated Happy Birthday!! Love the screenshots that you put in this post.

    I will always have a place in my heart for Nagrand in Outland. Yep, spent many months wandering around doing all of the quests that I could lay my hands on when it was still new. Special memories of a very special place.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

