Have you ever really noticed…The waters of Azsuna

 

This post has been long overdue – It’s something I wanted to make for a very long time. I am so fond of the ocean and orcas, and the time has come to really appreciate and notice the waters in Legion.

For those just joining, the waters in Vanilla WoW and a few expansions ahead was not nearly as detailed, as they are today. It was rarely a place you got sent to do a lot of quests; it was mostly just there.

You couldn’t hold your breath for as long as you can today, either, so any quests that did sent you there, was often abandoned along the way. (Looking at you “Deep Ocean, Vast Sea”!)

 


 

But now, especially in Legion, the attention to the waters has really made it a whole other world to explore and dive into. Even the way the water moves, when you swim through it, has improved.

I wish I had screenshots from Vanilla to compare, but almost all of them are lost, so you will just have to enjoy the journey through the waters of Legion, starting with Azsuna.

 

Enjoy πŸ™‚

 

Of course, the only real way to get into the water is this way.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

WoWScrnShot_101717_182247

 

 

The waters of Azsuna has a lot of diversity. Almost dark and grey phasing towards Dalaran and the Broken Shore, but way more lush on the other side.

Notice the way the water moves as my tail flips through it. It’s hard to capture on a screenshot, but I keep trying πŸ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

Onto the more lush environment on the western side. I took a screenshot from above and under the water. The colour palette is just gorgeous, I think, the way it changes and all.

Taken above water…

WoWScrnShot_101717_183045

 

 

 
…And taken from under the water.

WoWScrnShot_101717_183049

 

 

 

Azsuna is rich with various creatures too, sharks, turtles, fish.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

I even tracked down a few jellyfish. (MY squishy?!)

WoWScrnShot_101717_183152

 

 

 

 

A few more attempts trying to show the oceans movements around the character, particularly from behind.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

 

Even Argus looks nicer under the water…

WoWScrnShot_101717_183536

 

 

 

The waters of Azsuna also holds morays, and all the magic surrounding Nar’thalas Academy lits up in such a wonderful way under water.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

This may not be under water, but just taking a moment to appreciate the beautiful scenery. What a world they created in Legion.

WoWScrnShot_101717_184618

 

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

Detailed water lillies, it has that too… πŸ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

And to end this post…One cannot say water in Legion without mentioning the gorgeous waterfalls on the Broken Isles. Have you ever gotten close to them, and turned all other sounds down to minimum while having your ambience sound up?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

I really enjoyed this tour. Looking forward to Val’sharah, which is next.

WoWScrnShot_101717_183702

 

 

I wish you all a wonderful Wednesday πŸ™‚

 

I wonder, what is your favorite thing about the artistic design of Legion?

16 thoughts on “Have you ever really noticed…The waters of Azsuna

  1. Blizzard should start using your screenshots on their promotional materials πŸ˜‰

    Favourite thing…..let me think…

    Perhaps how they made each of the zones on the Broken Isles feel like a unique place in Azeroth and yet the transition from one to another doesn’t feel like they don’t fit well together.

    And now that I can fly there, I have to say this: Suramar is not just beautiful. Its visually stunning.

    Also, making us work hard before being able to fly allowed us to see much more of those zones. With flight given early, I think a lot of players would miss out on so much of these amazing zones Blizzard made for us

    Liked by 3 people

    1. What a sweet thing to say, thank you so much πŸ™‚

      And thank you for sharing your thoughts on your favorite things, that was really nice to hear about! Yes, that is actually really nice, what you mention. Suramar has gotten so much attention to detail, even the underwater world there. It’ll take very long to explore I bet πŸ™‚

      Yes, I agree, no flying at first, flying later. Otherwise I would have missed out on so much for sure.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I agree with everything Lord of Icerown says. πŸ™‚

    I think they made this expansion zones the best in a very long time. Even if Broken Shore, imho, is quite boring. More like Broken Snore. But I guess it just shows the total corruption. Argus could have been a bit more exciting, too. After we’ve heard of the place for more than ten years.
    Amazing screenshots, again.
    Hugs!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Aw hugs πŸ™‚ I agree too, it is so stunning in Legion. Yeah Argus is another story…Broken Shore too. Hah snore. The last zone on Argus is okay though, but nothing like the Broken Isles is.

      Thank you so much πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Excellent screenshots. When I was suggesting ocean exploration ideas, I forgot about the Broken Isles. I started noticing the details off the coasts. It’s remarkable how much detail they put into the water, even though there’s almost no quests down there.

    They went above and beyond with the artistic design in legion, with the insane amount of details in each zone and class hall. It’s a shame I’ve only seen two class halls. It’d be nice to explore the others, but the druid one is fantastic anyway.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, Zeshio πŸ™‚ Your suggestion has not been forgotten! It awaits for inspiration to carry me through it soon πŸ™‚

      That’s so great, you are starting to notice such details. I really adore areas where there are no quests involved, but that still have gotten a lot of attention from the artistic design team.

      I hear you on the class halls! I sometimes wish WoW had some kind of spectator mode, where one could get a tour of places they normally cannot reach. Or follow as someone else does their class quests. That would be super cool πŸ™‚ I know there is youtube, but it’s just not the same.

      I agree. Druid Class hall for me as like coming home. If I could have one wish it was for it to have a little specific area for each race that can be Druid, too. But it’s pretty great already, of course πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s been said over and over, but: AWESOME SCREENSHOTS! I hope you don’t mind, but I downloaded a couple of your screenshots to use as wallpapers and screensavers on my computer! They are amazing!

    I had noticed the difference in the waters. It shows a huge attention on “details”, if I can say so, since waters are no small details, aquatic life included!

    Lovely post, thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aw, wow, you are more than welcome to download, I am just glad to hear that the time I spent capturing the game can adorn your computer in such a way πŸ™‚ May I ask, which ones did you chose? πŸ™‚

      It really does! I love it. Thank you so much for taking the time to appreciate it πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I chose the last one (of course), the one with the horse and the one where half of it is the orca in the water and the other half Azsuna’s line. I’m a bit picky with wallpapers but I think I just found a source full of pure perfection images, so thank you! *goes checking your other posts to get more* πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, yes I see. Well, with you being picky with wallpaper, I sure am honored that my screenshots made their way into your computer then!

        If you have a character of yours you are particularly fond of I’d be happy to do a portrait shot sometime too πŸ™‚

        Aw, good luck checking! Hm, if I have to pick, I think many of my “Let’s swim” posts have the most chance to bring out the calming serene backgrounds suitable for wallpaper.

        https://alunaria.wordpress.com/2017/05/29/the-orca-tour/

        https://alunaria.wordpress.com/2017/06/04/lets-swim-from-howling-fjord-and-to-highmountain/

        https://alunaria.wordpress.com/2017/06/17/lets-swim-from-jade-forest-to-the-timeless-isle/

        Or, the Cathedral of Light exploration post too, that place is so gorgeous.

        https://alunaria.wordpress.com/2017/05/24/exploring-cathedral-of-eternal-light/

        That’s a few πŸ™‚

        Like

    1. Oooooooh, thank you, thank you, thank you! What else have I been missing, any other designers I might appreciate on Twitter? Please tell me πŸ™‚ Gonna dive into Muffinus’ posts now, thanks again πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

