My wish list for Blizzcon 2017

 

With Blizzcon 2017 just around the corner, I want to make my own, probably very unique, list of things I hope for.

Or, things I dream of, because I know, that most of my wishes will never come true.

But hey, I can dream! So here goes – It will be fun to look back on years from now for me. πŸ™‚


 

 

 

Russell Brower gets his job back

The musical genius behind some of the most treasured music pieces in WoW. Blizzard eliminated his position some months ago, which is a sad, sad act, considering how important music is to the game.

 

 

 

 

More character interaction opportunities

I’d love to see more RP love, even though I do not RP anymore. Like, imagine if our characters could hug? Obviously it would have to be worked out, so it would require a party etc. or “approval”, so people wouldn’t just spam-troll-hug in Stormwind!

More emotes as well would be so great.

 

 

 

 

No scaling

I know this is where most probably will disagree, but I disliked the scaling in Legion. I would much rather see the new zones as Wrath of the Lich King did; two starting areas to chose between and then we work our way up towards Icecrown.

Levelling up should make me feel more powerful. Not less powerful. And I would absolutely hate to see the rest of Azeroth scale to my level as well.

I like walking in the forests of Teldrassil without getting attacked, thank you very much.

 

 

 

 

Cross realm removed

No. More. Crossrealms.Β One should still be able to group with friends across servers, of course. But bring back a sense of community within the realms.

Yes, I know, lots of issues would occur concerning low populated servers, but this post is just about dreams, not solutions.

I believe, that the biggest reason for the careless acts, rude behavior and inconsiderate attitude towards each other in game in groups are caused by the implementation of Cross realms. That is where your reputation on your server no longer mattered. Crucial turning point for the game.

 

 

 

 

More Class uniqueness

Hibernate. Want it. Even Soothe. Miss it. More freedom when it comes to Shapeshifting.

I do not see the need for every class to have identical spells, just with different names. (While we are on it, more kilts for Druids please! Where have they gone in Legion? There is not a single one!)

 

 

 

 

A revamp of the Druid Class “mount”/form

There are SO many issues with this one, I am honestly surprised, that weΒ  haven’t gotten a brand new remake of it instead. I did notice a new mount on Wowhead, that has a landing animation, so I imagine that will just be copied to the Lunarwing mount, but it’s still not good enough, really.

 

 

 

 

A new expansion that does not involve a super mega crazy bad guy

Let’s return to Duskwood and help out as strangers passing by.

No more of this “You are the all high and mighty Arch Druid that will save us all!”.

 

 

 

 

More simplicity

Less Netherlight Crucible and the likes. Easier to know what is an upgrade and what is not an upgrade. Less clutter when it comes to gear and stats.

 

 

 

 

A stat squish

Similar to the one we had in MoP (was it not around that time?), so we no longer run around with these crazy healthpools and stats. Will be easier to calculate with smaller numbers too.

 

 

 

 

More graphical options for weather effects

Dark nights, early mornings, sunrise, the moon, skies, storm. Effects much like from those Inky Black Potions, Storming Saison and Spirit Spirits – I would love to see those as a graphical option in game, we can just toggle on and off.

 

 

 

 

Garrison/ Class Hall/ Missions removed

Yeah…No.

I do not think it belongs in WoW. It gives me an unnatural “pause” in questing, when I, all of a sudden, have to wait XX hours for my so called “Champions” to complete something without me.

Nope. Out with that. (But IF it remains, which it will…Then please, continue the Legion App. It’s awesome for people with so little time in game.)

 

 

 

 

No more World Quest being forced upon you

All those pop ups with no way to disable them, and the quest items, that lands in your quest log. Too annoying in the long run. Option to toggle it off, please. I run with the Addon Silent World Quest, but some WQs still appear in quest log including items needed to complete it, that won’t go away on it’s own. Breaks immersion.

 

 

 

 

Less flashy spells and outlines

I like to immerse myself into the universe of Azeroth, without spells flying all over the place, thank you.

 

 

 

 

More information inside the game, instead of outside of it

I am playing with one monitor, and I really like not to switch back and forth from Wowhead and where not and to the game, to find out info.

I would simply love it, if more information was put inside the game. Also when it comes to lore.

Imagine if hovering over an item would give you an option to read more about it, let’s say, if it was named after a specific character in the game.

Or how about if you had an option to find out more about the NPCs you run into, inside the game instead of outside of it? That’d be so awesome.

 

 

 

Less catering to the segment of players that play all day

It has recently dawned on me, that by catering to these kind of players, Blizzard ruins a lot of the game for the casual kind, which (I hope) is a player segment, that is far larger.

By constantly trying to come up with “solutions” to “keep 24/7 players busy”, they risk that the rest of us sit back with a feeling of never being “done” – never reaching that certain point, where you sit “on top of the content”, because there is always more to do. Having things to do is good, don’t get me wrong! But all things in moderation.

 

 

 

Bigger and less crowded zones

Zones with far fewer mobs in between, thatΒ  lets you look far into the distance, without all the various groundlevels, mountains and caves. Think the old Thousand Needles. I’d love to see a new zone like that.

 

 

 


 

WoWScrnShot_101717_184604.jpg

 

 

That’s about it, on the top of my head! I am sure I can come up with a ton more though. And when I reread this list, I sound very negative with my “more of this, less of this”.

So here’s just a few quick things I adore about Legion, so balance it all out a tad πŸ˜‰

 

Gorgeous details to the environment. Waterfalls, butterflies, forests, trees, snowy areas, lush areas, you name it. It is a magnificient and beautiful work, they have created. Unicorns. All the new unique creatures. Micro holidays (make them last longer though, please)

The music; This will be the expansion that brought us Canticle of Sacrifice and the Anduin Theme. Need I say more?

The lore and stories has been a great joy as well. Captivating and relevant, and by far a completely different experience than the “old standard quests”.

Legion has a lot to offer, and the rest of the game does too; with my limited time to play, I will never run out of things to do. Just need some finetunin’, that’s all, right πŸ˜‰

 


 

 

WoWScrnShot_102317_102008.jpg

Curious otter is curious

 

 

Anyway, how about you? Do you have one wish above the rest, that you would sacrifice your entire pet collection, gear or archaeology levels to see implemented?

Happy day to all of you πŸ™‚

 

 


 

 

Added:

Coffee, Cakes and Crits posted some excellent thoughts on what one could hope to see at Blizzcon, too. One can always hope, fingers crossed.

15 thoughts on “My wish list for Blizzcon 2017

  1. A perfect list πŸ™‚ I would disagree with scaling though. Actually I do feel powerful now with all my Argus gear and when back to Broken Isles. Also without scaling, you won’t be able to make the world active and replayable via world quests. Without scaling, you may not have a leveling path to choose on alts.

    Two solutions come to my mind here:
    1. By all means fix the gap in your power when you reach level cap and not geared yet. Suramar mobs hit fresh 110s like a truck.
    2. What happens in the expansion stays in the expansion πŸ™‚ Mobs scale with your level, but not with your gear. So they grow 100->110, and that’s their limit. When you become 111, 125, 130, the Broken Isles mobs stay 110.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Totally agree with you except on something. Before that, I just wanted to say Russell Brower is a musical genius and I hope he will continue to work for Blizzard on a freelance quality, since their initiative will focus more on freelancing work thus removing the need for an In House sound director.

    That being said, come on less flashy spells? πŸ˜› I love playing with Princess of the Mists when she is on her elemental shaman, for all the flashy spells of thunder and lava flying around. Look at what they did to my priests! I was always so meh because I could barely see their spells and now we levitate and glow, its amazing πŸ˜€

    As for the outlines, that should probably be an option to toggle, or only show up on a certain graphics setting.

    I would love an expansion focused on exploring, maybe exploring new places an titan forged buildings and temples. With Brann, of course. I would also REALLY like for the Archeology profession to have more puzzles and to change a bit, it barely feels different digging a Vrykuk site or a Nerubian one :/

    As for the β€œin game information system”, which we discussed on the other day, Im with you 200% on that one. The sheer amount of players who go online to seek more information about an NPC, or a zone, is more than enough to justify this.

    Age of Mythology did this in 2002, and I spent so much time reading those things. Link: https://d2.alternativeto.net/dist/s/7fd6fff4-48e9-e111-9e65-0025902c7e73_3_full.jpg?format=jpg&width=1600&height=1600&mode=min&upscale=false

    On this link there is a screenshot, and on the bottom middle of the image, on the troll image there is an β€œi”, and when players clicked it it would open up a wiki type thing with detailed information. On this case, it would tell all about trolls in norse mythology, and even detail their diet.

    I would really love for Blizzard to cater more to the β€œcasual” players. I don’t like the word, and β€œamateur” has changed its meaning a long time ago, which is too bad, because amateur was the person who did something simply because he/she loved doing it (unlike a professional, who would do it for career/money/etc). The so called casuals, are the ones who never run out of things to do. We may not play 6 hours a day, but in couple of hours we play we do all sorts of things. We don’t rush and power level and then complain there is too little content.

    And last, but not least, something I want: PVP works on an honor system. Kill a worthy enemy, get honor. Well, (on the risk of getting unfollowed by some people) I believe that killing a too low level player should cost you honor. Its a dishonourable kill after all. Why should a player with all his shiny PVP talents and prestige levels be rewarded for killing with a single blow an adversary that had no chance of possibly defending himself?

    Anyways, sorry for the long reply, and I hope Blizzard gives us what we most need on a possible new expansion πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Never apologize for a long reply; I really appreciate when people take time to respond in depth πŸ™‚

      Oh, I sure hope so too, with Russell Brower.

      Heh, yeah, we cannot agree on flashy spells. I think they are getting in the way of seeing the encounter. Raiding is such a flash fest!

      I agree on the Archaeology, for sure. I would love to see some changes to that profession as well.

      Aha, thank you for the screenshot, I see about Age of Mythology. Cool πŸ™‚

      Yeah, good thoughts on the “amateur” and how that word has changed its meaning. That’s actually sad. Not fond of the word casual? I have begun to think about which other word could be used…Mmm.

      I totally agree on the dishonourable kills, that would make so much sense. I remember back in Vanilla, one would actually get minus honor if they killed specific NPCs (I think it was, my memory is beginning to fade a tad from that era)

      Me too, fingers crossed πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with everything. The spell effects can be turned down but they are still tiring at times.
    As for “a super mega crazy bad guy”. Maybe they will make a a super mega crazy bad gal instead?? That would make a huge difference! πŸ˜‰
    They should cut down on dailies/wq. That’s just a very cheap way to make “content”.
    As for dishonorable kills. Not only some honor minus. Wouldn’t it be fun to be forced to wear a silly hat for 12h in addition? /evilgrin
    Although, I like silly so my sense of honor and my striving for silliness would cause some inner arguing, I fear. Otoh, I am on pve realm so dishonorable killings are avoidable.
    Zones are getting smaller and smaller (although Legion main land is packed with detail), maybe future expansion will be one islands where evrybody steps on each other?
    The vastness of the vanilla world I miss.

    Like

  4. I feel pretty unimaginative when it comes to Blizzcon predictions. I’m pretty happy with the game as it is. The thing I enjoyed in Legion the most by far is the keystone system. That makes dungeons sooo interesting/fun. So, I’d have to say I’m looking forward to the next iteration of 5man dungeon tech the most out of the next xpac.

    I got a kick out of the hugging idea. Can you imagine a gnome trying to hug a worgen? πŸ˜† And the idea of SW troll hug spam. You’d have people yelling in trade chat, “STOP HUGGING ME.”, lol

    I like the scaling system in that it solves the problem of leveling with other people. It’s so difficult with the current system to stay the same level as a buddy and go all the way to 110 and having to be logged in at the same time every time you’re trying to level. I can see you’re side of the argument, though. It’s definately nice to conquer a zone and be able to one shot everything after fearing the zone before.

    That extra info idea sounded interested. Like a super tooltip, or having wowhead built into the game somehow.

    Happy day to you as well! Looking forward to the Blizzcon annoucements shortly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Zeshio πŸ™‚

      Ah yes, I imagine that. The keystone system made way for a lot of challenge that is very easy to access and find fun!

      Haha, I am glad; that is actually the exact scenario I had in mind with the hugs. The trolls in Stormwind would no longer spam trade chat with various things, they would just hug, hah πŸ˜€

      Hm yes, that is a good point, actually, something that the scaling system helped a lot with; grouping with friends on various levels. Perhaps scaling tied to each expansion then would be a perfect solution πŸ™‚

      Yes, me too! It’s not long now, I am SO excited! I get up around 4/5 AM every day but I am seriously considering staying up all night to watch Blizzcon! Have a good time πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I was all set to completely and totally agree with you about scaling. When you choose a “leveling pathway’ with one character, you can choose a slightly different one with an alt and things don’t get monotonous. So yes, I agree that I would have liked Legion to have two distinct start points, and a series of Zones that got progressively harder/higher.

    Then…..came the announcement about how Outlands and Northrend are going to scale now starting with the next patch. Only have to do one of those because it’s all 60-80’s, and I was like: Holy cow! Scaling is my new best friend.

    I have said the following words to my husband (with regard to a warrior I was leveling up as Horde): This is going to be the last character I EVER level up from 0. Because I can’t do Outlands again even one more time.

    I got my Horde warrior through by doing Blade’s Edge from the Horde side, that was actually interesting and something I’d never done. But I hate Hellfire Peninsula….just hate it. So learning that I actually could level up someone new from 0 without having to set foot in that pit again, was pretty exciting to me.

    So I can see the pros and cons of scaling very easily. Though to be fair, I might not hate Outlands as much if there had been TWO starting areas instead of only Hellfire Peninsula… πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Miranda, good to see you again πŸ™‚ Oh, I understand what you mean; the way Blizzard plans on introducing scaling seems very cool, I think, actually πŸ™‚ I was more against the scaling done in a way that made everything the same level as you throughout the entire game.

      Yeah, at some point one can get fed up with doing the same zone over and over and over again. So, enjoy WotlK levelling, am I right? πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

