Blizzcon 2017 – Battle for Azeroth: My Top 15 best things (And my Top 1 almost deal breaker- things – list)

 

 

Gosh, what a weekend. I haven’t caught up with everything, that has been going on at Blizzcon 2017, but I am slowly making my way through it.

I have been stalking our beloved blog community over the weekend, thank you for all the posts to you guys!

 


 

I have to be honest; not everything announced at Blizzcon was well recieved on my end (at first!) but I I have thought about it, and I think, that the main reason for that is, that I am still on Argus, fighting my way through, living in Legion.

I am missing the pieces that actually gets me to Battle for Azeroth, but I am sure, once I get those, that things will make more sense.

So positive goggles on, look on the bright side, its so shiny, so it’s fairly easy, and go, go go πŸ™‚

 

 

(None of the pictures in this post, except for the featured image, are my own, since I am on the go, I haven’t got access to my screenshot folder. So thank you Wowhead for keeping us updated with lots of screens for me to use)

 

 

 

So let’s just get right to it, in no particular order:

 

My top 15 best things from Blizzcon 2017

 


 

 

Battle for Azeroth – the Cinematic Trailer

 

 

 

Can anyone argue, really? That was breathtakingly beautiful. When Sylvanas yells “For the Horde” or when Anduin’s entire character – within just a few seconds of screentime – tells us the story of the struggles he has been through to find out who he really is.

Chills.

I know , that some were left with the feeling of “What…Was that it?”, but as said, I think that has to do with the fact, that we are all still on Argus, and we miss the pieces of the puzzle that really brings us to where this cinematic starts.

We have no idea yet- and the so called “hype” gets “capsuled” in a way, not really able to get released. That is so important to keep in mind.

I felt the same way, until I wrapped my head around this.

The more I watch it, the more I look forward to it.

 

 


 

 

Classic WoW development announcement

 

 

If you have been here on my blog for a while, you know, that I sit with some very large rosetinted goggles on.

I bought the virtual ticket this year, for the first time ever, because I was so hyped for what is to come for the game.

But this, I did not expect. I was watching it with my hubby, and the moment J. Allen Brack began talking about icecreams, I screamed. Not loud (at first). I was holding my breath.

No, this can’t be right. I am dreaming. But…Icecream flavors…Vanilla…Why is he on stage instead of Ion…

But then, when that cinematic started rolling…Oh, the feelings. Especially as I watched our beloved world of Azeroth restored. I got up and literally danced around the living room, bursting with joy. I even woke up our son (it was way pass his bedtime here, living in Europe)

Watching the video I linked above really brings me joy too. What a reaction in the audience. If you just watched it through the virtual ticket, do yourself a favor and watch that short video.

Aw, the audience sounds so…Just bursting with happiness. (In order to really appreciate and understand our fondness for Vanilla, I think you would have had to played back then from the start. And that’s ok. It can’t be for everyone.)

The cinematic for this was amazing too, I think. And I cannot wait to see more. I have my hopes up for a true Vanilla server, even though I know, that ‘many’ already complain on the forum and want this and that change to it.

I do think and hope we will see an experience as close to Vanilla as possible. Anything else would be wrong. I hope Blizzard is able to drown out the loud voices (which represents the minority for sure) and instead listen to those, who are in it for the long run.

I did read an interview with J. Allen Brack stating there will be no cross realms. Amazing. Community, I salute you. I cannot wait. I think I will play both retail and Classic.

My hope is that we do not see the new character models either, of course. Everything as it was. It would be brilliant, if it was a server, that would start off from scratch and then slowly develop, just like Vanilla did. But, stop at the last patch before the Burning Crusade.

Then if people want to play TBC, another server will open up, and they will be able to transfer their character to there, which will be treated in the same way as the Vanilla server. And so forth. One could also chose to just remain on the other server.

But enough about this, there is so much more to be said, and this was meant to be a recap πŸ™‚ I think it’s quite easy to spot, that this is very important to me.

 

 

So Blizzard: Thank you. I salute you; heroes, as you work hard on finding the balance in creating an official Vanilla server, that will please the majority of those, wanting it back.

I read , that you want the community to participate in helping you determine, how to go about this. We are SO ready. (I mean, I am right here, ask me anything!)

Thank you so much.

 


 

 

Backpack size increased!

 

https://media-elerium.cursecdn.com/attachments/88/78/Backpack.jpg

 

Hah, well, it’s a minor but, but we have been asking for this for so long.

I honestly would love to get a peek behind all the techy techy stuff, to see why it is so difficult to do!

 


 

 

Decent zone scaling

 

 

At first I was very much against this, but the way this is being introduced is cool! Let’s see how it all rolls out, but as long as one can go back and solo old content, as they can now, it sounds very nice.

 


 

 

Waterfalls (The new zones)

 

 

Well, nature in general. The new zones looks just as visually stunning as the Broken Isles does. And so many waterfalls in the sneak peek of them during Blizzcon! I like that πŸ™‚

 


 

 

Stromgarde Keep

 

 

I was quite fond of this place in my levelling days and found it a huge shame it was not used more. So it will be great to see it come “alive” πŸ™‚

 


 

Druid Class Abilities returns

https://alunaria.files.wordpress.com/2017/11/b5a52-buff.jpg?w=1200

Soothe. Hibernate. And Mark of the Wild. All of those were (so far) featured in the future. Can’t wait πŸ™‚

Granted, I saw that MotW gives Versality, but still. It’s a buff! I can cast on players. From another server…Who I never see again…(Ooops Vanilla goggles on, they are so sticky, these!)

 

 


 

 

Battle for Lordaeron Diorama

 

 

Have you seen that? That is beyond amazing. That Blizzard would actually do this, and include some of the players characters there (that were attenting Blizzcon). What a remarkable accomplishment.

Congratulations Blizzard on now holding the record for Guinness World Record for largest videogame diorama too!

 


 

 

Stat squish

 

https://i0.wp.com/wow.zamimg.com/uploads/screenshots/normal/402643.jpg

(The above picture is just an example of the old stat squish)

 

I have been wanting this for a while, and am really happy to see it arrive at some point. I get it, some want to see huge numbers, but calculating with much less will make things a little simpler. And hopefully, make the older raids easier to do, as well.

 


 

 

The costumes

 

https://i1.wp.com/wow.zamimg.com/uploads/screenshots/normal/673509.jpg

 

One of my favorite parts of Blizzcon I always look forward to. How much work has gone into those this year, so many amazing ones! How fantastic is that Ursoc?

 


 

 

Steady flow of content, even before the expansion

 

https://static.icy-veins.com/forum-files/uploads/monthly_2017_10/WoWScrnShot_101817_225400.thumb.jpg.e0bc5bb02e7a7d9bc94f8f13f909d26b.jpg

 

 

Yes, well, I found that pretty cool! As someone who never manages to catch up with content (Blizzard produces more content, than I have time for), I am happy to see this anyway; and give them credit for trying to constantly be “on the move” with the game.

 


 

Azerite and the Heart of Azeroth

 

 

Stay with me, let’s remain positive πŸ˜‰

As a replacement for our Artifact system, Blizzard has to come up with something else. They just have to. Something else that can keep those players with 24 hours a day to play busy, to still feel they get a sense of “progression” throughout their day.

And this is it. I watched an interview with Taliesin and Evitel interviewing a couple of those, that work on Battle for Azeroth, and the way the developers described it, made it seem fairly straight forward, and not RNG based either.

The way Azerite will be “collected” seems much more flowing too. No stuff in bag that you click on, it will just absorb into your Heart of Azeroth.

As a system, it seems less complex than the Netherlight Crucible, and to me, that is great news. I want less complex systems, I see no need for them. So yes. Let’s see how it all works out in the future πŸ™‚

 


 

 

Ion Hazzikostas

 

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/Ql1dv4elqk4/maxresdefault.jpg

 

You know, credit is due where credit is deserved. In the past, I have not exactly warmed up to Mister Ion. But he seemed so much more open and genuine at this Blizzcon. Having his position is not easy, so I hope that people will take a step back and just appreciate all the good things, and always remember, that how one comes off on screen can be very different from how it was originally intended. Let’s just give some praise to the entire Blizzard workforce for bringing us such epic experiences.

 


 

 

Azeroth Island Expeditions

 

 

These seem very cool, and unlike anything we have seen before. I can only imagine what kind of challenges they can come up with using AIs, that behave in such a way.

Think the Mage Tower Challenge but harder and less predictable. Which impact will this have on future Raid Boss designs?

And how clever to make them with multiple difficulties too, so there is a challenge for every “level” of player (and again, a method to keep players with lots of game time busy)

 

 


 

 

No plans (yet) to include Garrison/Class Halls/ Missions clones

https://i1.wp.com/wow.zamimg.com/uploads/screenshots/resized/423076.jpg

 

 

Oh, now, this. I really like. I would love to just be in one joined hub, city, you name it (where we cannot fly), much like the old days.

Instead of being in a phased solo zone, where one mostly just stares at a Mission Table.

I’d love an expansion without the unnatural “breaks” in questing, that some of these missions at our mission table has caused us during Legion.

I really disliked the Garrions and Mission Tables overall.

Do not get me wrong; the Class hall for Druids is so beautiful and amazing, but I am talking about the way it impacts game play. The portal switch between zones all the time, waiting for Champions to get done, etc.

I heard there are no plans for more apps like the Legion Companion App either, but of course, that can change along the way. But so far, so good πŸ™‚

 

 


 

 

That’s about it for my Top 15. But I cannot end this post without this…

 

 

 

My top 1Β  – almost deal breaker things – list

 

Teldrassil burn

 

Positive view is what I am all about, but…The fact, that Teldrassil will get burned down…

Kalimdor will be taken over by the Horde.

What does this mean for all the places, I so fondly travel to a weekly basis?

I get it. Many say: Times change, move along.

But for me, Teldrassil is my favorite place. Darnassus too. Iconic.

It’s where I go, when I use the Auction House etc. as well.

It’s where I levelled every single character, I have ever made. I cannot imagine, not having this in the game.

Still processing this…But it had to be mentioned.

Right now; If Teldrassil burns, so will I.

 

Teldrassil burn1

 

 

 

 


 

 

Anyway, that pretty much sums it up. I look forward to read a lot more blog posts about all of this soon!

 

 

But what about you, if you should select one thing you are looking forward to, and – if you feel inspired by me-Β  an almost deal breaker thing, what would it be?

 

Have an amazing day πŸ™‚

28 thoughts on “Blizzcon 2017 – Battle for Azeroth: My Top 15 best things (And my Top 1 almost deal breaker- things – list)

  1. For classic, i wanted to play WoW in 2004, but short in money, i have to choose between books or video games and books always win, not regretting that πŸ™‚ so i hope Classic will as close to old WoW as possible, i tested a private server before, loved the experience but didn’t like the fact i’m not playing official game from Blizzard.

    One thing i’m thinking about when the world change, how we will reach old raids and dungeons for soloing? will i be able to travel to Kalimdor then fly without any trouble from NPCs of other faction? probably goblin cities will still function for both factions, or i hope.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah I understand. Yes, I certainly hope so too! I see a lot of suggestions wanting to add changes to the Classic servers already. That seems so silly! Then it wont be Classic after all. Fingers crossed πŸ™‚

      That is a good question you bring up there. I have no idea!

      Like

  2. I think it’s interesting that the stat squish slide showed red and blue gem slots instead of prismatic. Implies that we’re moving back to that idiom for gem socketing. Obviously not canon yet, as far as I know, but I have to believe that these slides got a thorough review by someone familiar with such things.

    Teldrassil is a real shocker, for sure. My current main grew up there, on Darkshore, in duskwood, in Ashenvale. All of that is lost? 😦

    Can’t tell me that Stromgarde is an equitable trade.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yeah. Nicely spotted. Hm, I do not know either, I do wonder.

      Aw yes, for me too, a real shocker 😦 I do not know if all of that is lost. It is my hope, that it will not be. And that somehow, we find a way to restore it.

      I know. Nothing is a good enough trade for Teldrassil for me…

      Like

  3. One thing I know from personal experience living here in southern New Jersey near the Pinelands. Its an area designated in our state for preservation, I believe over a million acres. But the nature of the pitch pine trees is that for new to grow, the old must burn. Perhaps we are reading more into the image, maybe the tree was corrupted and to cure it the old must be burned away to have new grow.

    Just a thought

    Liked by 3 people

    1. A very good thought, considering that when they talked about the burning of Teldrassil and invasion of Undercity, they didn’t offer any hints as to what happened first and why.

      I’m curious to see the reasons for those two acts of war.

      Liked by 2 people

    2. That is a good point – and one I really welcome and want to hold on to, to help me have faith that Teldrassil and Darnassus will not be permanently lost. Thank you so much πŸ™‚

      I guess I am thrown off by Sylvanas standing infront of it, but perhaps we are all being toyed with right now…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. She’s standing in front of it? I only saw the one video with a quick image the tree looked like it was burning. Or maybe that was a vision of a possible future.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Don’t be sad about Teldrassil… Well, try not to. I know its hard. Princess of the Mists is still sad about it.

    We will still have Exodar and Silvermoon, as last bastions (Im not saying Azuremist Isle is as beautiful as Teldrassil, just cheering you up a bit)..

    In the end, Im amazed at what this means for our character development. Even people who don’t RP, like myself, have their own story about each character we make. Maybe this war will make Alunaria master the powers of bear form to have her revenge :p (we have some tanking specs posts in the works about how to play each ^^)

    Blizzard cinematics are something else. I recommend you watch the video for the ones from the Warcraft 3 and expansion, the cinematics and soundtrack are amazing: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=dfkiJXnSRM8
    (The one about the defeat of Archimonde, and the return of Arthas are my two favourites)

    About the 3men vs AI scenarios, I agree. Definitely less predictable than mage tower, not sure its harder as the enemies wont be raid bosses, just enemies with player like abilities and stats. What might make it hard is that the enemies will adapt to your strategy, but that seems super fun ^^

    Interestingly, I think this may bring a slight change to the future of raid bosses. If the AI ends up learning player strategies and cooperation, they may implement it on some bosses, to make some fights less β€œwatch on youtube, read here and there, do the same”. Imagine a raid boss using certain abilities on purpose to, for example, attempt to counter the death knight tank’s self sustained healing.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aw well, you are so sweet to offer words of comfort. There is no place like Teldrassil and Darnassus for me.

      Yes I was actually visiting the RP section of forums the other day, to see what peoples thoughts are there. Not many threads on the subject yet, I guess, since things are up in the air and unknown still, but during my RP days, the majority of people on the server I RPed with was actually living in Darnassus.

      Wow…You are awesome. I never thought of watching the cinematics from those games at all! (I only played WoW, so). Thank you so much for that idea, I cannot wait to watch it. That’s brilliant πŸ™‚ Sometimes I wish I had played the games leading up to WoW to get a better grasp and idea of it all.

      Yes, I was thinking about that too; How a boss fight could be really hard if it would be made into such a clever AI. A little spooky to think about, if such a thing made it into real life…

      But yeah, doing a boss fight without being able to just find some strategy online would be super cool πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That link I sent you has amazing cinematics, and they are the ones who became the standard for Blizzard cinematics. Amazing to think this was more than 10 years ago. Make sure you set the video to play in hd, and let me know what you think πŸ™‚

        I’ll have to look into the AI part, because if it’s a true AI instead of just programming, we are in for amazing fights ^^

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I will be sure to let you know! Remote on TV broke (it was not child proof…) and I am not watching it on my phone! So I shall return as soon as I find a replacement πŸ™‚

        Yeah aint we? I really think so too, how gamebreaking that will be.

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Ok, that was really something. Thank you so much for linking that video. I watched it now on our great TV.

      I never thought about watching those cinematics before. I only played World of Warcraft and nothing else before that. It was really cool to see so much of things I recognize, and get a glimpse of what lead up to WoW. Even the music in some of them, I could recognize!

      Anything else you can recommend? πŸ™‚ The cinematics were also so amazing! As you said, hard to imagine they are 10+ years old. Stunning.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so glad you liked them πŸ˜€

        I only remembered to show them to Princess of the Mists after we had a talk about Arthas (she hated him for what he did to Sylvanas), to show her an amazing cinematic and that there was more about Arthas than meets the eye (evident on the cutscene after the Icecrown raid, still makes me teary eyed everytime I do it again).

        Then we repeated the Battle for Mount Hyjal and I was like β€œI cant believe this, you have to watch this cinematic. It is much more moving and powerful that what we get at the end of that raid”. The song on the background when Malfurion uses the Horn to wake the wisps… is haunting πŸ™‚

        Hmmm…recommendations….. They never did separate versions of the songs you heard on that video (This was more than 10years ago, and they should remake them in full and put them for sale. I would buy them ^^) but on this video you can find them all, in case you want to listen to them again, or recommend a certain track to other fans: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=XWsjXSaeQx4

        Another recommendation for quality Blizzard cinematics, and on a similar genre to WoW, are the ones from the Diablo 3 games. Even if you dont follow the plot of the games, they are super enjoyable. But I can context it, at least for these two: in a medieval world, the devil (Diablo) and the lords of hell break free, and wreak havoc. Heroes have to stop them, with the aid of Angels, and contain them on a powerful artifact, the black soulstone.

        On the first one, Imperius the angel that serves as Regent of Heaven fights with Tyrael, a soldier angel, because Tyrael wants to aid mankind. Notice how beautiful and creative the wings of these angels are: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=j0muXxwx6t0

        On the second one, you’ll see Tyrael and the Horadrim, a secret elite group of blind holy warriors, going to guard the soulstone and being attacked by Malthael, the Angel of Death, who wants the power of the soulstone to himself. I loved what Blizzard did for this angel in terms of characterisation: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=NWa41eJjr0c

        I played these games and know the lore, and I apologize in advance if you know it too, I was just trying to provide a bit of context so you can enjoy those small videos even more πŸ™‚

        Ps: Its truly amazing looking at those old cinematics and the new ones, and thinking β€œBlizzard really set the standard all those years ago ^^

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow…Wall of awesome text crits me! πŸ˜€ Thank you for all those links! They have all been bookmarked for later watching, joy \o/

        Ooh I saw the one about Tyrael, hubby played some Diablo too, and other games as well. That was stunning, I recall. You are right. Such attention to detail.

        Looking forward to the rest πŸ™‚

        Never apologize for sharing lore and speaking about it in such a way; my short term memory is not the best, and even though I might know some things already, it’s really great to hear them from others; every little bit helps me remember it all better πŸ™‚

        Yes, right?! What cinematics, even back then. Just like now with Battle for Azeroth.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice posting. I kind of enjoy how some people insist on saying “classic” and others want to say “vanilla”. It’s fun.
    I about jumped out of my chair when I heard that we’d get our buffs back. 3% Vers is great to cast on someone who is out questing!
    I can bless you!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much πŸ™‚

      Yeah, I actually like “Classic” more. But J. Allen Brack and his Vanilla Icecream flavor lead up deserves praise!

      I thought of you when I heard about the Class Buffs too πŸ™‚ Indeed! Let’s bless!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Nice list of things. I did not know about some things. The diorama is great. Wohoo for buffs!
    That they make both Outland and Northrend into 60-80 sounds nice if one is levelling up yet another alt and have no achievements or anything there, and just doing it for xp, and then can have a greater choice of quests/zones to do. But how will it work with e.g. raw materials? Northrend mats are higher level than Outland’s. Sounds like it will be an odd mix.

    This burning of Teldrassil and the conquering (faction cleansing?) of Kalimdor and Eastern Continent, respectively, is that phased, or does it mean that Horde levels in Kalimdor and Alliance in the East? Does it mean that those that haven’t done Loremaster for those continent once again are reset and have to do stuff all over again? I simply do not understand the model :/
    Will a resurrected Fandral Staghelm be back burning his old corrupted tree plant? That’s one old mad codger for you! πŸ˜‰
    I am never a nostalgic person, except for one thing. Old wow. That Teldrassil music brings back memories and emotions. When I am starting to get used to the cataclysm, will it all go kaboom again?

    Maybe the master plan is this: The world burnsssss, and if you do not like it, here is Classic mode! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  7. That’s one I didn’t even think of, but I’m am so totally with you: the end of missions and followers! Back in Warlords, I threatened to burn down my garrison on a daily basis – the monotony of missions, resources, and followers was old back then and it’s only gotten older now. While I like the aesthetic of the Paladin Class Hall a whole bunch, I really do miss the feel of running around a capital city where everyone is at. Garrisons and order halls are just so lonely! Although, I suppose, there might not be a singular hub with the newly reinforced faction divide. Regardless though, I’m very excited to see the end of missions. I would much rather go and do those things myself than send followers to do them for me. The micromanaging “game-within-a-game” was not for me!
    Other than this, though, my number one favorite take-away from Blizzcon was definitely the new subraces. I love love love the Lightforged Draenei, and have been wanting to play one since they were introduced! I’m also hoping that these subraces will open the door for even more customization options. One day I’ll get my muscular ladies!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Fussypants, thank you for visiting, enjoy your stay here! πŸ™‚

      I know! I dislike that kind of “game-within a game” so much, nicely described there.

      Oh, thank you for sharing your thoughts on that. Those Draenei does look very detailed for sure. πŸ™‚

      Yes I agree, more customization would be so welcome. Though not too much…I can remember trying out Aion once. I was stuck in the character creation screen for days, hah πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I had not heard of that game before so I did a quick Google search and woah, that is wayyyyyy too much to handle! So many sliders, so many sliders! I think Blizzard could maybe introduce another body type or two (something along the lines of muscled, curvy, and then a middle ground perhaps?) and that’d be more than enough on that front!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks for the summary of the Blizzcon highlights. One of the things I’m looking forward to most is probably the zone scaling, actually, and maybe some revamps to older areas, just like Cataclysm did. I’ll actually be able to finish all the content in a zone without feeling pressured to move on early.

    I feel pretty heartless saying this, but I probably wouldn’t miss Teldrassil very much if it went up in flames, although Darnassus would be a huge loss. And that zone music does bring back some great memories, but I just leveled through that zone recently and it is pretty old. I’d understand if you no longer want to be friends. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, the way they are planning to introduce the scaling is great! I agree πŸ™‚

      Aw, well, it’s not heartless; its just how you feel. Without Teldrassil, there is no Darnassus either though, Im afraid 😦

      Haha, I won’t “unfriend you”, because of that, not to worry πŸ˜‰ Though, if you can’t find me for a while, I’ll be sulking over at the Classic server! πŸ˜›

      Haha, kidding πŸ˜€ It’s all good, mon! πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

